Homeschooling Meme

I was tagged earlier this week by Enchanted Homeschooling for this, and I’m supposed to answer all of the questions, which was harder than I thought.  Maybe that’s because I’m still waking up and my allergies are something horrid right now with all of the wildfires in the area.
007
1. One homeschooling book you have enjoyedHmmmm……  Only one?  One that I read and really enjoyed when we were first thinking about this whole thing is “So You’re Thinking About Homeschooling,” by Lisa Welchel.  I love the way she writes and the fact that she featured many different types of homeschoolers, from school at home to unschoolers, to a single working Mom who homeschools.
2. One resource you wouldn’t be withoutThe internet?  I look up a lot of stuff, and research books to get from the library what to teach from it.
3. One resource you wish you had never boughtSing, Spell, Read, Write.  I thought it would be a good fit, and there were many parts that were, but the primary reading parts were too much for the kids.  They got upset and frustrated with the 50 page books.
0274. One resource you enjoyed last yearWe really loved our history and our science last year.  I’m sure we’ll be going back to them on a regular basis.
5. One resource you will be using next yearMath U See, actually I think almost all of our curriculum we’re going to stick with for next year.
6. One resource you would like to buyAll About Reading.  I’m really curious to find out more about it and for when they get their first level out.  My only hesitation is I got really burned buying SSRW unseen, and am hesitant on it.
7. One resource you wish existedHmmmm…….  I don’t know.  That’s a good question.  Maybe a literature based 50 state study with a very long list of books you could use.  I’ve been making ours up as we go along.
0298. One homeschool catalogue you enjoy readingAfter a while of looking at catalogues my eyes glaze over.  I enjoy CBD’s catalog, but I really could spend a lot of time looking at Currclick, I love some of the downloadable units.
9. One homeschooling website you use regularlyI’d have to agree with Enchanted Homeschooling, Pinterest.  I love looking through there for ideas and my boys love looking over my shoulder for what they want to make as well.  Also, I follow most of my favorite bloggers which means I sometimes get previews of what they’re planning on doing.
10. Tag other homeschoolers
Children Grow, Children Explore, Children Learn
Almost Unschoolers
All Things Beautiful
All three of whom are friends of mine who homeschool in ways that I admire (different things for each one), but things I admire.

9 thoughts on “Homeschooling Meme

  1. Leah's comment cracked me up, yet in someways she hit the nail on the head for the way I was feeling as I read through this wondering how I would answer the questions.

  2. I really enjoyed reading this. I have yet to read Lisa Welchel's book. I took it out a year or so ago, but I had so many other books on homeschooling out that I never got to it.
    I agree with your answer to #7. I have yet to do our state study like we were going to. But I was looking for some sort of resource you mentioned and couldn't find anything.

    So sorry about your allergies. I understand what you are saying. Hope they get better soon.

Leave a Reply

