Make your own portable writing center

writing center

Oh darn, my step by step is on my lost camera…… WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well, it’s super simple.  Get a metal box (for sturdiness), newspaper, and mod podge.

Tear the newspaper into little bitty squares.  Mod podge it all over.  I wrote a letter for the top modeling proper letter writing form.

079
I added a frequently written words cards.  It included things like people they write to, things they talk about a lot, and extra space to add more words.

I also included clearance stationary I’ve been picking up at Michael’s.  I wait until it’s in the 50 cents or less bin for a pack of 6-8.  They care more about quantity than quality.  I plan to eventually add in some address stickers and real stamps to let them mail cards to their grandparents.

079

And now they’re running around writing letters.
012

8 thoughts on “Make your own portable writing center

  1. Letter writing is becoming a “lost art” due to email, ya know? Which is very sad- at least your kiddos will keep the “art” alive!

    (Oh, I had a dream last night that I came to your house and hung out with you, and a couple other bloggers and their kiddos. Then all our kiddos were ring bearers and flower girls in a wedding…What did I EAT before I went to bed?)

  2. I think this is a super idea! If you wanted to link it up at Look! What We Did! (lookwhatwedid-homeschool.blogspot.com), we'd welcome it 🙂

Leave a Reply

