Indiana: The Floating House

Amazon.com Widgets

 

You hear a lot about people going West in a Covered Wagon.  You don’t really hear as much about them going West other ways.  This book was a great example of another way.  This family floated West on a house boat.

 

“A house boat?” you say.  Yes, and there are dangers I didn’t think about connected with a house boat.

 

After reading this I decided it’d be fun to make our own house boat.  Two fun and easy ways to do this would have been using a milk carton or juice boxes.

 

I thought of this pretty much 10:00 the night before, and I don’t have 10 boxes saved to use right now.  I have a lot of egg cartons….. Not so useful for this.

 

023

 

I used my Silhouette to cut out some boxes, if you don’t have something to cut them for you, here’s a template I found that will do that.

 

I then set them to coloring boxes with crayons to decorate their boats.

And then they colored a peg doll for their person in the boat.  Simple, fun, and sadly not waterproof.

 

I emphasized that several times.

 

024

Isn’t he cute?

5 thoughts on “Indiana: The Floating House

Leave a Reply

