Bible Alive: Israel Complains


This past week with the kids and then again with my Sunday school class we learned about Moses and the Red Sea and a few other things.

I’m going to spotlight how I taught this with my Sunday school class, I taught the story on a walk with the kids taking turns acting the part of Moses and other people, since I didn’t take pictures in that version I’ll show the pictures from the peg doll version I did with my kids.
001
Moses and all of the Israelites set out following God, but they looked behind them and saw Pharaoh was following them and the Red Sea was in front of them.  At this point I had the entire class say, “Why did you lead us out here to die!” as dramatically as possible.
Then Moses held his staff out over the “water” (or the street) and all of the Israelites crossed on dry land.

The Israelites traveled some more and they started to realize they were thirsty but the water they found tasted bad (I gave them each a few drops of watered down vinegar to taste, boy were they unhappy).  Again the Israelites said “Why did you lead us out here to die!”
015
Moses prayed to God, and God told him to throw his stick in the water (the kid playing Moses threw his staff on the ground and then they got to drink from the water fountains).

They traveled some more and at this point they’ve been traveling for 3 months.  They’ve started to run out of food and they’re hungry.  They came to Moses again and said, “Why did you lead us out here to die!”

Moses went to God, and God said He would send mana for the Israelites to eat.
017
The Israelites gathered mana just like God said (they walked to another corner of the building and found cups of honey teddy grahams). 

They traveled some more and were out of water again.  They complained to Moses again and said, “Why did you lead us out here to die!”

Moses went to God and said, “What should I do?”  God told him to hit the rock with his staff and water would burst forth.
021
Moses did as God said and just as God said water burst forth.  The Israelites drank the water and were happy.

We talked about two things with this:

1.  Do you thank God for what He gives you?  The Israelites didn’t always thank God when He gave them what they needed.
2.  Do you obey without complaining?  The Israelites spent most of their time complaining.

The full story can be found at Peg Doll Bible Stories (where I’m occasionally putting up the stories I tell my kids) and this is the Israel Complains story cards.

7 thoughts on “Bible Alive: Israel Complains

Leave a Reply

