North Carolina: Blackbeard’s Last Fight

 

We read this when we first studied North Carolina, and the kids were a little weirded out by it then because it’s a little scary, but they’re older now, and a bit more bloodthirsty, and besides our geography group skews heavily to the boy side of things, so anything with pirates is good.

 

When I read it 3 of the boys (including mine) were absolutely spell bound and kept creeping closer and closer to me, so they were almost on top by the time I was done reading it.

 

At first I didn’t have a great idea for a craft, and then as we did the protest signs for “Freedom on the Menu,” it came to me!  Blackbeard’s corpse sinking into the waters, yes that was our craft.

 

008So, I got out small Dixie cups, popsicle sticks, and cut index cards into little bitty pieces to fit into the cups (approximately fourths).  Then I set the kids to drawing their Blackbeard, when they were done they glued their card to a popsicle stick and we stuck it through the bottom of the cup.

 

They happily sat there pulling him up and down in the cup, and watching his body drown…..  Yes, they loved this craft.

009

Afterwards Superman had a blast stacking cups and making pyramids.

8 thoughts on “North Carolina: Blackbeard’s Last Fight

  1. My little boys would love that too! Its so funny to me how those things, like a pirate drowning, is so entertaining for them. Mine are in the superhero phase so we have lots of doom & gloom around here that ultimately ends in laughter. Boys. lol!

    Anyway, I'm stopping in because I am new to We Teach and just joined the “We're Bloggers” group. When you find a moment, I would love for you to do the same. You can find me at http://sofiasideas.com/

    Sofia's Ideas

    BTW, I didn't see a GFC widget so I am subscribing via Google Reader. I hope that will suffice?

  2. We have a point here called “Blackbeard's point”… I am guessing there are a lot of them. My kids want to do the cup stacking. I keep forgetting that. Thanks for reminding me. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  3. Thanks for letting me know, I was able to become your official GFC friend today! lol ;0

    I've always had issues with my widget too so you are not alone. I always want to get rid of it but readers like it so there it shall stay.

Leave a Reply

