Virginia: The Promise Quilt

And then there’s the book images from Amazon that are crazy huge…….

This is a cute story about a little girl who’s father goes off to fight in the Civil War.  He promises he’ll come back, but he doesn’t, and it’s the story of how her family remembered his promise and made a quilt to help keep his other promises.

That’s the best I can explain it without giving the story away.  I’ll just say it’s super duper cute and I highly recommend it.
005

Afterwards they each got a square of white paper and large amounts of construction paper to cut up and make into a quilt of their own.

My kids happily went about mutilating paper and making confetti and gluing pieces down.

008
Our friend, who’s more of a perfectionist by nature contentedly made a four patch quilt and declared himself done.

And then two out of my three kids absconded with their pictures, before I got my own picture, so just imagine the marvelously wonderful quilts they created out of scraps of paper……..

016
Princess’s creation.
I’m linking this up over at: All Things Beautiful, Journey to Excellence, and
learning laboratory at mama smiles

Shibley Smiles

9 thoughts on “Virginia: The Promise Quilt

  1. LOL I love this post. You are very funny. My kids always want to take their projects away to play with them, too. Sometimes at the end of the year their folders are practically empty. At least I have recorded what they did on the blog!

  2. Hahaha…One of my boys would have made the four piece quilt and ran off and the other would have made the wild quilt like your princess did. Kids!!!

    I would love to invite you to come join us on my brand new link party of children's activities (Hey Mom, Look What I Did) at Adventures In Mommy Land.

Leave a Reply

