Virginia: George Washington’s Teeth

I don’t know about you, but me, I’m always weirded out by any book about teeth or talking about them, because I’m totally paranoid my teeth are going to fall out someday.  It makes no sense because I go to the dentist, and I brush my teeth, but I can just imagine how horrid it would be to have no teeth.

I tell you this so you know how big a deal it was that I read this book to the kids.

It goes through in pain-staking detail, and in a very entertaining fashion all about how George Washington slowly lost all of this teeth.   Then talks about what he did to try and solve the problem.

009

Well, at the end of the book George Washington makes an impression of all of his teeth using plaster of paris and a small mold.  Well, I didn’t make the plaster up in time because I forgot about wanting to do that, so we made molds with play-dough.

007

And just as obviously it wasn’t our teeth, it was random small toys, but it did get the lesson across because they spent days talking about his teeth.  Much to my chagrin.

And yes, that is another head wound on Batman’s head.  In the same spot………  Each of those are links to a different incident……..  Sigh, how do they always fall there?

9 thoughts on “Virginia: George Washington’s Teeth

  1. Eli always had an ongoing bruised lump in the same spot on his forehead. It would be purple, then start to fade, and then right when it started to turn green … WHAM!!! He'd hit it again. I swear it was that way for at least a year.

  2. I love the activity. You could get fake teeth they sell at this time of year- although maybe not if you are squeamish about the topic. 😉 Bringing the book together with that activity was a great way to make an impression on the kids! (really, no pun intended!)

Leave a Reply

