Noah’s ark or maybe just a fun boat to play in

So, because I’m a crazy over-achiever or maybe a perfectionist or something I’ve decided to completely write and design my own Bible study curriculum that goes through the whole thing in 2 years.  More or less.

I mean we’re not hitting everything, but it gets most of the major stories and themes.

Well, this past week in our Sunday school class was Noah, so of course we had to make arks.

SUPPLIES:  individual milk cartons (or in our case orange juice), floral foam (can be found at the dollar store or Michael’s), brown acrylic paint, Noah’s ark printout, sharp knife

018

1.   Force your kids to drink 14 cartons of orange juice in 2 days, then cut out one side of your ark, so it looks like a boat.

2.  Paint your ark.  I know, normally I’d show me painting, but I didn’t think to take pictures until afterwards.

019

3.  Cut your floral foam to fit inside your carton.  This is a very exact science which will require shaving off bits and pieces and then shoving it into your ark.

And, it is very messy.

020

4.  Color the printout and cut out each of the figures.  Then tape them to the ark.

021022

Now set your ark adrift on the ocean.  And look forward to the squeals of delight from your kids.  Yes, that is a mandatory step.
So, I made 24 of these for my class including the sample (I pre-painted them, they colored the pictures).  We used every single one of them.  No joke.
Noah Ark Papers(function() { var scribd = document.createElement(“script”); scribd.type = “text/javascript”; scribd.async = true; scribd.src = “http://www.scribd.com/javascripts/embed_code/inject.js”; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(“script”)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(scribd, s); })(); learning laboratory at mama smilesabc button

11 thoughts on “Noah’s ark or maybe just a fun boat to play in

  1. HAHAHAHA about the orange juice. This week my son brought home instructions for a pirate ship and so we had to buy some OJ, which we normally never do. I was trying to get him to drink a lot of it, but finally just decanted it into a pitcher for later! :]

  2. I wanna know who DOESN'T force their kiddos to drink/eat certain things in order to use the containers? (And if your kiddos are anything like mine, there was not much complaining involved…)

    I can't wait to see your biblical curriculum when it's done, you crazy creative Texan, you!

  3. I think we're on the same wavelength! I'm trying to research and write up lessons that are appropriate for ~3 year olds- that goes through the Bible in a year. There aren't a lot of lessons aimed at 2 year olds. That's why we're pinning the same things! 😉

  4. Ok, newbie blogger question. 🙂 How/where do I enable my email? I just added it to my profile page, but is it not working on the blog? Hmmm. I have lots to learn! 🙂

  5. What a great craft!!! I hear you on the take 2 years to go through the Bible…I think we are on the 3 year or so plan. Wish you would have had this done when we did Noah-it may be a few years before we get back to it lol!

Leave a Reply

