Bible Alive: My First Hand’s on Bible

 

If you haven’t figured it out yet I have a tendency to collect a lot of books, and a lot of picture Bibles, because I’m always searching for the perfect one.  I think we have 4 or 5 different children’s Bibles, and that’s not including the stories I’ve written or the different Bible story books we have.

 

So, it’s no surprise that when I got a chance to review this Bible I jumped at it, I have the older kid version and think it’s pretty cool, and this looked right up my alley.

 

I was right.  To keep me from rambling too much, “too late,” I know, I’m going to break it down into bullet points:

Likes

  • I really enjoy the illustrations, my other favorite children’s Bible I go back and forth on really like the illustrations
  • The little suggestions throughout the story of how to make it hands on (act like an animal, try to count the stars).
  • It’s the actual Biblical text, not a paraphrase, that’s pretty hard to do with some of these stories.
  • There are great questions and prayers at the end of every story to talk about with your kids

Dislikes

  • Sometimes because they’re not taking every verse from the story, it can seem stilted.  For example the story of Isaac’s birth starts with Sarah being happy, with no prior explanation of her.
  • The stories are short.  Some of that is because the Bible isn’t exactly verbose at times, some of that is because they chose not to include details.  The stories being short is also a plus depending on how you’re looking at it.

Overall I highly recommend this children’s Bible, it’s perfect for the age range they’re gearing it for.  They get exposed to many of the favorite stories and they do a great job of bringing the kids into it.  This is probably one of my two favorite children’s Bibles.

 

Thanks to Tyndale for providing me with a copy of this book.  They in no way changed my view of the book by providing a copy of it.

7 thoughts on “Bible Alive: My First Hand’s on Bible

  1. I have heard about this Bible. I know what you mean about looking for the perfect children's Bible. I have given up and we just work from the real Bible, where I can help tell the stories.

  2. My two favorites are this one and the “Jesus Storybook Bible.” They're both good and have slightly different ways they tell it.

    When kids are able to read on their own I'd recommend buying them a Children's International version of the Bible.

Leave a Reply

