Science Sunday: Whale Sounds

We’ve started learning about whales and dolphins and as I was reading about them it brought up all sorts of questions about their sounds, so I did a quick you tube search and played the different sounds.  I thought I’d save ya’ll the search and share what we listened to.

 

I also couldn’t resist a few for the boys of the different whales hunting:

 

I have to admit I could just sit there and listen to whale songs for ages.  And I at least can’t think of humpback whales without thinking of this clip from Star Trek 4:

 

Okay, so it’s a bit of a lazy post, but I figure that’s more interesting to see than my saying we sorted them into baleen and non-baleen whales.  I’ve spent most of this week either sewing, cleaning, or swimming.  Busy, busy, busy.

11 thoughts on “Science Sunday: Whale Sounds

  1. Ticia, I LOVE this post! It can be added to so many science lessons ….. ocean animals, mammals, endangered animals, etc….even great if the kids are writing a poem about whales or dolphins… It will give them inspiration…. I am going to link up to it on my blog later today with my animals unit! If you find frogs or rainforest sounds in the future …let me know. Thanks for sharing!
    Marcia 🙂

  2. Little J did a whale study just before our visit to the Georgia Aquarium. I never thought to listen to their songs. I'll have to let him see your post!
    Little Wonders' Days

  3. Fantastic! D is going to LOVE this!!! And, on the way to church this morning, before I read this post, I was telling the Man of the House, how great it is to know someone else who has read Douglas Adams, and is as big a geek about Star Trek as I am – he said he wished you lived closer 🙂 He'll get a kick out of the link.

  4. I love all of these clips. Thanks for sharing. I couldn't help but think of one thing over and over while I was reading this. The part of Finding Nemo where Dori says she speaks whale and just says things deep and drawn out. I am a total dork, but you knew that.

  5. Thanks everyone!

    Musical Mary- I'll look into these books.

    Almost Unschooling- I tried so very hard to limit it to only ONE clip from Star Trek 4. It is a shame we're so far apart.

    Christy- whale sounds would be great to fall asleep to.

    Raising- You Tube is AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

