Fun in the Summer Sun: Art projects

Welcome to our Fun in the Summer Fun event! Each Monday until September 7th Mama to 4 Blessings along with Adventures of Mommydom, Sweet Diva, Harvest Moon By Hand, and Sweet Phenomena will be hosting Fun in the Summer Fun link up events.
Here’s the line up:
The 1st Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer activities”
The 2nd Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer crafts”
The 3rd Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer receipes”
The 4th Monday of each month: link up your “How to stay cool in the summer heat”

 

I’ll admit this isn’t strictly limited to summer, because I think these go on year round, but I just found out about it this summer.

 

Did you know that Lowe’s and Home Depot both host projects that kids can do at the store for free?  We’ve now gone to two at our local Lowe’s and I really LOVE these projects.

001006008

These are great because the kids get a chance to make a cool project in an no-fail environment.  If you horribly mess up the kit, and there’s still some left they will let you start over, and they supply all you need.

 

This time they made a tow truck, last time we made a goofy golf game.

008

 

The great part is you can then follow this up with an art project of painting it, or decoupage, what have you.  Last time my boys happily painted them with acrylic paints.  This time all 3 kids insisted that it did not need to be painted.  “No Mommy, it’s just fine.”

 

Which considering they didn’t really get out of the store before they started playing with them, I’d say that’s a good art project.

 

I’m planning for my next Summer art post to spotlight my favorites from what ya’ll link up, so I can’t wait to see what you put up!

7 thoughts on “Fun in the Summer Sun: Art projects

  1. We've never tried one of these offerings. I'm pretty sure they have them where we live. I'll have to check into it. Your kids look like they enjoyed it!
    Little Wonders' Days

  2. They LOVED it! I'm betting your kids would very much enjoy it. Wait for a project they'll enjoy and then go.

    Like my education teachers used to say, “Set yourself up to succeed.”

  3. I have wanted to go to one of these for about 2 years now and we never have. I always think about it at the wrong times and then when I do remember, it's not a project that works for us. I have to add this to my to do list.

Leave a Reply

