Review: TOS Primary Planner

When I saw a posting on Facebook from This Old Schoolhouse asking for reviewers of their new planner I jumped at the chance.  Why?  Well, I almost bought it last year but didn’t because I just don’t do well with planners.

 

I know it’ll shock you to hear that I am not as much of a plan ahead person as you might think, that and I constantly tinker with the forms I make anyways.  I tend to just make a simple chart in word and fiddle with the columns until I like the way it works.  I never use the planners.

 

So, why did I want this one?

002

 

It’s the extras that come with it.  The lists of all of Jesus’ miracles and parables, which are coming in tremendously handy this week as I plan out a unit on parables.  The lists of the different presidents and when they were president.  The list of the past 30 years of Caldecott and Newberry award winners.

 

Yes, I could look all of that stuff up, but it’s handy to have it in one spot.

 

It’s the record keeping forms on this.  What Bible verses have I memorized, what books did I read (was anyone else a HUGE fan of reading logs as a kid, or was that just me?), what field trips have we taken, name a thing you could keep a record about in homeschooling and it’s probably in there.

 

And then  you get to the forms for the kids, and these will come in very handy this coming year as I make, yes I said MAKE, my boys write more.  They’re flesh is willing, but the spirit is weak, and I’m going to toughen up that spirit.  There’s nature journals, book report forms, science journals (SQUEEE!).  And all of it nicely lined in primary style (I’m sure if I got an older kid version it wouldn’t have the primary lines).

 

001

So, let me break it down for you:

 

PROS

1.  All of those lists and information in one spot.  I’m sure if you get the full version (all 800 something pages), there’s even more.

2.  Calendars that can be filled in on my computer, for those of you who are calendar people.  I’m trying to be, really I am.  See, I printed it out, and I’ve started filling in my plans for the Sunday School year………  Do you see those penciled in notes in the picture?

3.  Pages that my kids can fill out, and the lines are actually in their size.  I’ve run into so many things that claim to be “primary lined,” and it isn’t.  Not by a long shot.

4.  Clickable index.  If you’re looking at the index and you want to go to the Science Lab sheet, you just click on it and you’re there, no scrolling through pages and pages.  Yes, it’s a small thing, but those are the things that make or break a product.

5.  Bible in a year reading plan, both in order and chronological.  I’m excited by the chronological one.  I know, this is a big surprise to all of you.  I like my history ordered.

 

CONS

1.  They don’t let you see the index in the preview, to me that is a big con for figuring out if I can actually use something, I want to know what’s in it.  If anyone wants to know, email me and I’ll show it to you.

2.  The price.  The primary planner is $10, which I know is a reasonable price, and they’re not charging too much.  But, I’ll admit I”ve gotten spoiled by the people who give away stuff and the cheap prices on Currclick.   So, the price tag makes me do a double take before ordering.

That being said, I’m probably going to buy the full 800 page planner because there are some forms in the sampler that I know I want..  So, obviously the price isn’t too big a deal if I’m willing to buy it still.

3.  I wish some lists were more thorough, in particular the Caldecott and Newberry awards.

4.  More recipes.  In the primary planner there is only 1 recipe.  It seems kind of cruel to only include 1 recipe.  I like to pretend I’m going to make all these recipes someday, and if they’re not there how can I imagine it?

 

If you’re interested in buying the planner, or want to see previews head on over to the TOS planner store.

 

If anyone has bought the full planner and has any comments on it, I’d love to hear them.  I’m very seriously considering it, but I’m going back and forth on the whole $40 and if I’ll get my money’s worth out of it.

 

Also, the TOS blog is hosting a Where’s Edna scavenger hunt with the prize being one of the planners.

 

Disclosure: I received a free copy in exchange for my review of this.  The copy did not change my opinion of it, nor what I said.  I babbled on of my own free will.

Favorite Resource This Week

5 thoughts on “Review: TOS Primary Planner

  1. This is a great review. Very thorough. I cannot do online planners either. I have to write things down in a real paper planner or make a list on paper. I guess that means I am old.

  2. I was such a planner as a calssroom teacher, you have no choice. The plans need to be there if you need a sub, but as a homeschool teacher – wow. I plan as I go, by the seat of my pants!!! I'm also trying to change that. I suppose as we transition from Montessori more to written curriculum it may be easier. I agree that a clickable index is very nice. Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

