Fun in the Summer Fun: Stayin’ Cool!

Welcome to the 1st of our Fun in the Summer Fun event! Each Monday until September 7th Mama to 4 Blessings along with Adventures of Mommydom, Sweet Diva, Harvest Moon By Hand, and Sweet Phenomena will be hosting Fun in the Summer Fun link up events.
Here’s the line up:
The 1st Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer activities”
The 2nd Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer crafts”
The 3rd Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer receipes”
The 4th Monday of each month: link up your “How to stay cool in the summer heat”

I’m sure this will totally shock you, but it’s hot here.  No really, it was over 100 at the beginning of this week.
I was all set to show you my favorite game from VBS that we do every year for water day, and then this was what happened to the games:
036
Yes, that is wild pandemonium as 200 kids all throw as much water as they can at each other.  Time ran short to play the games, so instead they just opted for the always popular throw water at each other…….
I was hoping I had pictures from earlier years, but I don’t……
So, here’s the two games, hopefully I explain it well enough you understand.

Drip, Drip, Drop

This is essentially duck, duck, goose with water.  The “ducker” walks around with a cup of water.  As they get to each kid they say, “drip,” and drip a little bit of water on the kid.  The person who is chosen to be it, you say, “drop” and dump the entire cup of water on them.  If you get tagged you sit in the “mush pot,” which is usually a baby pool full of water.

I’m sure you can see people don’t really run all that fast, and are eager to get tagged.
077
Relay race
Supplies: 2 clear two litter bottles, cups, buckets of water
Divide the kids into two teams.  Have them line up a good ways from the end point with a bucket of water, and each team has a cup.

At the other end one of the teens leading the club would be laying down with a two liter bottle on their head.  The kids run up and try to fill the bottle before the other team.  Ideally, they don’t pour too much on the teen.  Yeah, the “poor” teen gets soaked.  I mean completely and 100 percent soaked.

The horrors.

Hopefully these explanations make sense.  Maybe I’ll have my kids reenact the games………

And because I know you were dying to see how water day was at my club in video form, and a quick shot of me serving food (stay tuned tomorrow for an actual write up of clubs).

I can’t wait to see how ya’ll stay cool.  I have some fun ideas coming up, one that I’ll have to warn Jeff about……..

7 thoughts on “Fun in the Summer Fun: Stayin’ Cool!

  1. SOMEDAY summer will appear here. We had the HEAT on on Saturday, because it was 54 degrees out.

    Great water play ideas! I wonder how my kids would react to the “drop” portion of “drip, drip, drop”

Leave a Reply

