Fun in the Summer Fun: Kid Friendly Summer Recipes!

Welcome to the 1st of our Fun in the Summer Fun event! Each Monday until September 7th Mama to 4 Blessings along with Adventures of Mommydom, Sweet Diva, Harvest Moon By Hand, and Sweet Phenomena will be hosting Fun in the Summer Fun link up events.
Here’s the line up:
The 1st Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer activities”
The 2nd Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer crafts”
The 3rd Monday of each month: link up your “Kid friendly summer receipes”
The 4th Monday of each month: link up your “How to stay cool in the summer heat”

I’ll let you in on a secret:

Shhhhh!  I’m not that much of a cook.  I can and do enjoy it, but I don’t tend to do cutesy or anything really memorable for food aside from Santa cookies………  So, I was racking my brain trying to think of what I’d write about.  I mean if you want great cute recipes you go to Almost Unschoolers of Superheroes and Princesses and sit back and say, “Wow! I would never have thought to do that.”

But, you know what I’m good at.  Picnics.  I love to have picnics.  So, here’s my tips for quick grab and go picnics:

1.  Have the staples on hand.  In our house that is: bread, peanut butter, jelly, chips, fruit snack, and juice boxes.  For me, as soon as I get those individually wrapped items home I take them out of their boxes and dump them into a central box, it cuts down on boxes in my pantry.
032

2.  Buy a large bag of the chips your kids like.  Then reapportion them into snack size bags.  It’s cheaper than buying the pre-made snack bags, and since my kids are little, it’s closer to how much they eat.  This also helps keep me and my husband from eating half the bag in one sitting.  What is it about Cheetos?


3.  Get the divided containers like you see at right, or something similar.  Easy Lunch Boxes sells this same basic idea.  This is the perfect amount of lunch for most pre-schoolers.

Sigh, silly Amazon putting huge amounts of space around their picture.

4.  Buy a cooler like this and it will pack all of your containers, several drinks for everyone and a snack.

That’s my tips.  Anyone have any others?  Any favorite picnic recipes?  I have a pasta salad one I’m going to share next time.  It’s my go to for large groups on a picnic.

13 thoughts on “Fun in the Summer Fun: Kid Friendly Summer Recipes!

  1. Picnics are such a great way to enjoy summer! Great idea about re-packaging the food into smaller portions. The divided containers you pictured are wonderful – I use those to make meals for my parents (who have vision/mobility problems and Alzheimer's Disease), and they work so well.

    I also pack a tablecloth and blanket for picnics (the blanket is for the ground if the girls want to relax…or to cover the picnic table bench if it's been raining and the seat is wet).

  2. You & I are alot a like – I am not much of a cook either. I do not like cooking at all, to me it's boring. 🙂 I love the containers you use, I use similar ones for our lunches when we go out, each one of my kids gets one. They work perfectly! Have a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

