Fun quick kitchen!

I saw a super cute idea from Quirky Mama for making a play stove.

I LOVED this idea, especially since we wanted to get rid of the big huge Pottery Barn kitchen we had because all that really happened with it is the kids stored stuff in it.

 

001

 

So, I got out my trusty Silhouette cutter, pulled up the spider web cut out I had (because I didn’t want to find paint and wait for it to dry, that would be MUCH HARDER).

 

 

You believe me right?

002

 

I cut out 3 of them, and mod-podged them onto the lids.  I thought of doing the bottom, but then it guaranteed they’d empty everything out to play with this.

 

So, instead I used the top and stuffed the shoe box full of blocks and little squares and erasers and all of the other miscellaneous stuff they use to cook.

 

That’s right my kids cook blocks.

 

I’ve gotten them toy food, but they don’t really use it that much.  Instead they keep using these silly little squares and blocks and whatever they find.  So, why buy that when they’ll just invent it?

 

I need to look up the button, it’s not on my button table yet, but I’m going to link this over to Katie’s Nesting Spot.

6 thoughts on “Fun quick kitchen!

  1. Oh, what an EXCELLENT idea! I am now inspired to GET RID OF our play kitchen…what a space savor this will be! YAHOOOOOOO!

    (Can you tell I am a tad excited about the prospect of more space?)

  2. I love this idea too. Bear doesn't use the kitchen much anymore but J-jo was just actually using it a lot today, cooking me soup in the kitchen's microwave. lol. And then he fed it all to me. However, I have plastic storage boxes outside filled with water and sand for them to play in and I am going to paint or modgepodge a stove top on one of the lids. They will have fun with that!

  3. I've seen this idea a few places, and I really should follow your example – pass the cheap plastic kitchen we have on to someone who wants it and make a couple of these for my kids!

Leave a Reply

