Geography: Liberty Bell

Photobucket
  Amazon.com Widgets
Okay, so it’s history too.  Especially when you add in this cool book.  I got very lucky and found an intriguing book about how a farmer and his son saved the Liberty Bell when the British were fixin’ to invade Phliadelphia during the Revolutionary War.

So after reading the story, and very nearly being stumped a couple of times by questions from one of the kids.  As soon as I was asked why the Liberty Bell was so important it totally flew out of my brain.
To go with this book we made our own Liberty Bell.

Supplies: Egg carton cut into individual cups, yarn, mini popsicle stick, acrylic paint (it stays on the foam egg carton better, but I guess you could use tempera).

006

1.  Poke a hole in two sides to string yarn through later.

2.  Paint the bell, then put it down and wait for the paint to dry (this is when we read the story).

007

3.  String the yarn through the bell.  Now tie the yarn onto the stick close to the bell.

4.  I wrapped all of the excess string around the stick so look like leather ties, but you could just cut it off short.

5.  Bonus step all of the older kids wanted to do: draw on the crack.
005

10 thoughts on “Geography: Liberty Bell

  1. Ring-a-ling-a-ling! This craft really rings my bell…

    (Oh, I am so tired this morning- please forgive my horrible puns- I try so hard to be original, and yet it doesn't always work out a nicely as I hope for…)

  2. Cute craft!

    Visiting the liberty bell is the ONE thing I remember from my family's road trip to Pennsylvania when I was three or four. I was hugely impressed by the crack. And I'm sure it helped my memory that my parents purchased a miniature liberty bell to bring home that I always considered mine, although I think it probably actually belongs to the entire family? I think I had a habit of claiming things as a small child!

  3. That's a cute craft. I think we made ours out of cups. We also used our Christmas bell cookie cutter and made Liberty Bell sugar cookies; we used toothpicks to make the cracks in the cookies. I enjoyed going to see the Liberty Bell with the kids, but it was so busy that I felt like we were rushed through.

  4. I think I have seen that book, if not read it. Anyway it sounds familiar. I would have a hard time explaining why the Liberty Bell was so important too.

  5. Very cute, I am making a USA box with my daughter with little USA inspired things and I think I will have her make a liberty bell like that to include in there.

Leave a Reply

