Science Sunday: Ben Franklin

Science Sunday
What study of Pennsylvania would be complete without something about Ben Franklin inventor extroidanairre (bother, apparently I’m so far off on the spelling of this word spell check doesn’t even have a clue, anyone know what I did wrong, or did I invent a word?)?

Okay, admittedly there are many other famous people in Pennsylvania, but this is one of the people our library had a book on that was checked in.  After a couple of tries.

There’s one I’m gonna want to get about actually doing some of his experiments, but I digress.
Amazon.com Widgets

Franklin

As I read the book, the kids found the corresponding invention and would either draw or write the corresponding invention that Ben Franklin had made (the page was cut with flaps on the lines between each picture).

Some of the pictures are less self explanatory than others (the second from the bottom is a heater), but overall the kids had no real problem with completing it as I read it.

Now, can I interpret what the pictures are my kids drew?  Not really.

Click on picture to go to download of the page.
But, it was still fun.

7 thoughts on “Science Sunday: Ben Franklin

  1. WE went to Philadelphia for the 4th of July when we were studying PA and we actually got to have breakfast with a Ben Franklin impersonator. It was kind of cool. C and R were too young to really get it, but they still enjoyed it.

    The correct spelling is extraordinaire.

  2. Ben Franklin is the first person I think of in connection with Philadelphia…

    Extraordinaire is French for extraordinary – but it should be in any English dictionary as one of those direct-to-English words (sort of like deja vu). Can you tell I used to teach French? =)

  3. I'm so glad I found this weekly meme!

    We've visited Philadelphia a few times and the boys thought it was interesting to see a HUGE Ben Franklin statue in the science center there. He did so many things that you could spend quite a while learning all about his inventions.

  4. Ben Franklin was so brilliant. I love the drawings. 🙂 Maybe one of your kids will be an amazing inventor/scientist (it's very likely) and kids will be drawing pictures of their experiments and inventions.

Leave a Reply

