Preschool Corner: What to do with those sticker books


Amazon.com Widgets

 

When I mentioned to my lovely contact over at Zonderkidz that we were studying Pennsylvania, she said we should read some of their most famous exports, the Berenstain Bears.

 

Well, what could I say but, HECK YEAH!  My kids love these books.  The instant I opened the box they disappeared upstairs.

After much searching I found one of them again.  I’m going to assume the other is awesome because seriously, I haven’t been able to recover it form the kiddos.

024

 

Summary of book: Sister Bear and her friends enjoy gossiping together, and Sister thinks nothing of it until she hears her friends talking about her.  Then she starts to realize why it’s bad with some judicious help from her family.

 

 

This particular book came with about 12 or so stickers in the back with pictures from the book.

021

 

So, after reading the book and discussing how gossip makes us feel, I sent the mob of kids off to choose a sticker from the included stickers and put it on the front of the folded booklet.

 

 

023

 

On the inside (you have to look very carefully, because Superman opted to use only pencil), they drew a picture of another scene from the book.  The older kids had to write what was happening in the sticker they chose.

 

 

Final thoughts on the books:  Would I recommend, yes.  I don’t think I’ve found a Berenstain Bears book yet my kids haven’t liked.  I still remember the effects of reading “The Messy Room” book as a kid, so I’m rather partial to them anyways.  I love their books for a non-instrusive way to teach some nice virtues.

 

Legal stuff: I was given a copy of these books to give my honest opinion.  I did not get any money, and I probably would have have eventually gotten them anyways.  Seriously, we have like 10 or so books at least.

6 thoughts on “Preschool Corner: What to do with those sticker books

  1. There is a bio (can't remember the name) of Stan B and his wife. It was very interesting so see how they got started writing together. You might like it.

    We like the BB books also. James loves for me to read The A Book and The B Book over and over and over. At least he will have those two sounds down pat when we start formal phonics 🙂

Leave a Reply

