Aesop’s Fables

This fits into so many linkies.  It’s a great art tool.  It’s a fun way to bring in history (which is how we originally used it), great object lessons you name it.  I love Aesop’s Fables and Rudyard Kipling’s Just So Stories.

 

And, an extension I just thought of as I’m typing, you could totally tie this in to Jesus’ parables with the older kids.  There is a reason so many stories are told in this way because it’s an easy way to get a lesson and rather disarming.

031

 

Knowing I wanted to do some fun stuff with it, but I didn’t want to draw it all out which is my bad default habit, so I searched on Google and found the DLTK Kids site for Aesop’s Fables.

 

Perfect!

 

I printed off three that fit favorite animals or ones I thought they would most enjoy: The Bat, The Birds, and The Beasts; The Lion and the Mouse; and The Tortoise and the Hare.

 

For the kids I printed off the black and white moral of the story.  For me I printed off the stories and copied them into a word document to make a super simple pop-up story for their history books.

004005006

In case you can’t tell how it’s made you cut around most of the picture, but leave a little bit on both sides still attached.  Then you fold that in the opposite way the card will open.

 

Underneath to give it a bit more stability I put a second piece of scrap paper to help it hold up better.  The kids had so much fun with these stories.

 

I’m going to link this over at:

abc buttonPhotobucket Shibley Smiles

Seriously, I love my blog button table, I just copied and pasted in order they happen.

8 thoughts on “Aesop’s Fables

  1. These are all the places where I start getting my kids to narrate. These are short stories with memorable plots and they are good for them to keep in their hearts. Fables and parables are fun for them to narrate. Love them!

  2. I'm glad you posted this. We will soon learn from Aesop's Fables and now I am very much looking forward to it. Your pop-up picture stories are a great way to engage the kids while helping to make learning more memorable and enjoyable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

