Mistletoe and the Christmas Kittens or the Christmas Cat or the Yule Cat

39

 

So, one of the traditions of Iceland is The Christmas Cat.  He’s nowhere near as friendly as the cat in this story, but this was the closest I was going to get.  I found a poem about him, and included it in the printable I made.

 

 

  Amazon.com Widgets

Now just because you can’t see the cover of this book don’t assume it’s not really good.  It’s super duper cute.  No, really.

043

I’m always seeing Valerie over at Frugal Family Fun blog making these cute suncatchers and using coffee filters all the time.  I haven’t done much with them because, well…..  my kids get a little over enthusiastic and it can be a bit worrying.  But, then I realized that it’s like painting.  The more exposure they get to it the less mess they’ll make.

 

045

So, I let them have at it with red and green, because Mistletoe was red and green.  And then once they had completely soaked their coffee filter I shooed them off to play outside while they dried.

 

009

 

Then once it was dry I found a cat outline from Microsoft clip art (actually the same one I used on the printable), and enlarged it to suitable size.  Then folded the coffee filters and cut out large numbers of them at once.  The kids finished it off by drawing the final details.  Or in Princess’ case on one of them completely covering the cat in new marker.

 

And finally come back tomorrow to see the summary of our Iceland events.  My kids have found Iceland to be quite amusing.

 

Now head on over to A Mommy’s Adventures to see what everyone else did for their projects this week.

12 thoughts on “Mistletoe and the Christmas Kittens or the Christmas Cat or the Yule Cat

  1. These are so cute. I look forward to doing so much more with Selena now that I have a printer that does so many things. I didn't realize what I was missing out on until I got my early Christmas.

  2. OK, that Yule Cat poem just creeps me out! HOWEVER, I an interesting extension from the poem would be to collect some type of new clothing items for children in need….

    Hmmmmmmm…..

  3. The Yule Cat is new to me too.

    I'm with you – the more exposure the less mess. Speaking from experience, it certainly is true. Here's to seeing more coffee filter creations in your household

Leave a Reply

