Well I had another post started……

But quite frankly I don’t want to finish it yet because I have a few other things I want to get done.

So, instead I’ll show you my cool new idea:
014015
Do you remember these?

Obviously I made a few more.  And by a few I mean a lot………
014

Then when I was wandering around the Joann’s Thanksgiving Day sale (did you know you can get out of there in less than an hour if you don’t buy fabric?), I had an inspiration.  I bought a few more tins and some ornament packages and got to work.

And, here they are (and if you’re already using a Christmas themed tin, there’s no work involved, unless your ornament set isn’t Christmas).
018
Set 1: Christmas symbols.  It’s got a Santa, Mrs Santa, a reindeer, Christmas tree, various other things.

Total Cost: $3 maybe, it’d be less if I was using an altoid tin.

019
Set 2: Nativity set- it’s got all you need to act out the Christmas story, including an oddly pink donkey.

Total Cost: $1, the ornament set was 50% off and then I had a coupon for 20%, and the tin was an empty candy tin.  Honestly I don’t like the way the outside looks as much because the paper doesn’t fit as well.  Still working on my mod podge skills, but the kids don’t care.

021
This is the smallest of the sets.  It’s from one of those silly little mint packages that’s about 2” by 1”, and I just mod podged a piece of paper on the bottom, I liked the top design a lot.

022

Inside is a button set I found at Hobby Lobby.  It’s got gingerbread people, “cookie cutters,” and a Christmas tree.
Total cost: $0.50, gotta love those 50% sales at Hobby Lobby.

Itsy Bitsy Learners

13 thoughts on “Well I had another post started……

  1. Nice idea! The children here love those buttons in the last picture. we use them for spooning and counting with our numbered gingerbread men. I love JoAnns, Hobby Lobby, and Michaels just for fun stuff like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

