Great history books for kids

So, I was emailing with Natalie from Mouse Grows, Mouse Learns about finding good children’s history books.  And I agree they are hard to find, but if you look you can find some good ones.

 

Of course, it gets easier as the kids get older……  Not too surprising.

 

I’m just going to highlight some ideas to get you started.

 

22 I’ve had great luck with the Step Into Reading series.   It comes at many levels, obviously.  The higher the number, the harder it is to read.

 

When I taught in school I used this book for teaching about Thanksgiving.  It’s at a level that gives good information without being overwhelming.

 

And some of them are just cute stories (Abe Lincoln’s Hat).

 

23

 

There are a couple of authors that tend to have good books every time, no matter what their topic.  Aliki is one of them, and he (or is it she?  I can’t remember) pretty much always does a good job of explaining on a level most little kids can understand.

 

 

 

Like I said, once you get to about 2nd or 3rd grade it becomes much easier to find good books.  I still have my copy of “Shh! We’re Writing the Constitution” from when I was in school, and I easily read that 20 times.  I found it enthralling the little details she included.  Jean Fritz is a master of writing history books for kids to enjoy (did you know Ben Franklin was carried to the meetings rather like the Egyptian pharaohs because he was too old to be able to ride in a carriage without a lot of pain?).

 

And again about the third grade level is the Dear America or My America series, there’s a simpler series in the same genre called “My Name is America,” I have most of the Dear America and My America books,  they’re great for particular times in history.  There’s a companion series called “The Royal Diaries,” but I don’t have any of those yet.

 

And, of course Magic Treehouse, which so many of you have already been writing about has a lot of great history wrapped in it.

 

24

Finally, there’s those random ones you find that you got lucky to find and love it.

 

I found a great copy of the Gettysburg Address one day at Half Price books.  I got this book through a book order.

 

Usually around the holidays there will be books set up to entice you to buy them.  Great way to stock up your shelves.  Even better, wait for the day after the holiday and get them on clearance for next year.

 

So, that’s how I’ve found my random cool book finds.  The older your kids gets, the easier it is to find books.  I need to look through my teaching books and reorganize them and find stuff again because I totally didn’t keep up with my stuff, and now it’s all a hodge podge mess.  Kind of.

 

Head on over to Mouse Grows, Mouse Learns for more great book suggestions.

 

And two random cute pictures:  (Batman “sleeping” on Daddy)

033 032

I love that fake snore of his, so cute.

10 thoughts on “Great history books for kids

  1. Thanks for good ideas. I am bookmarking this post “for later”. I also had some luck with “Step Into Reading” for geography reads. I guess I am still mostly leaving history for when she is a bit older – right now she doesn't seem to have a lot of questions when we read history books which shows me that they fly high over her head. Thanks for joining WMCIR!

  2. Thanks for this! I just bought a set of Magic Treehouse books from Scholastic for cheap, so I'm glad you approve of the series (being the history master, and all)! Looking forward to checking out the others in a couple of years too.

  3. This is a good topic for me right now because I've been on the prowl for young child books on Gettysburg, the Liberty Bell, etc. Because we are visiting PA, NY, etc next month

Leave a Reply

