The MEAN Mommy returns

So, remember how I said I’d show you what my kids were doing while I sewed?

055

 

Well, the boys played.  Don’t they look cute riding on the motorcycle together?

 

Now, Princess………

 

056

 

I came around the corner, and she started running the crooked zig zag line of a guilty little kid.

She’d gotten a marker out and had colored on the door.  She knew full well she wasn’t supposed to be doing it, as evidenced by the run.

062

 

So, I made her help me clean this off.  And then I scrubbed it like crazy myself.  The marker came right off because it was washable, but the pen wasn’t being quite so cooperative.

 

Now, are you ready for the mean Mommy part?

 

We all still went to the swim part, but she wasn’t allowed to swim.  She sat on the side of the pool for TWO HOURS, and didn’t swim.  It was miserable for me as well, because she couldn’t swim, I couldn’t swim.  And it was over 1oo degrees.  I’ve since decided that I will make it more painful next time and I will go swimming and she’ll sit there, not allowed to get wet.

 

Yes, hello, my name is MEAN Mommy, and she made sure to remind me of that on a frequent basis while she sat there, in between horrible crying bouts.

 

But, she hasn’t colored on the wall or doors since, and I’d say that was a lesson well remembered.

 

And before anyone tells me how I’ve scarred my daughter for life over a minor thing.  This was not her first time, and we had tried other things.  This did not hurt her, but it made an impression.  So, no I wouldn’t change what I did, other than going swimming myself next time.

15 thoughts on “The MEAN Mommy returns

  1. Good for you for sticking your ground. That can be so hard sometimes, especially for two hours. I definitely think you did the right thing.

    About a year ago, I read an article about art with kids. This woman thought it was horrible to stifle the creativity of children, so she recommended letting them use art supplies however and wherever they want. Basically, she let her kids color, paint, etc all over her house. Isn't that crazy?

  2. YOUR NOT A MEAN MOM! YOU ARE A GREAT MOM! I KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE HAVING 3 KIDS – IT'S TIRING! I SYMPATHIZE WITH YOU, MY LITTLEST SON COLORED ON MY WALL WITH A SHARPIE & IT DIDN'T COME OFF! I STILL HAVEN'T PAINTED OVER IT!
    HUGS!
    NICOLE 🙂

  3. I think she will learn the lesson. It's exhausting and unpleasant, but we make sure to impress on our daughter that it's a lot more fun to follow the rules than to break them and be disciplined. I haven't had to do swim deprivation – it must have been torture for both of you.

  4. When my kids were little, I had a “friend” tell me that I was a mean mommy. I was strict, and when I said something I stuck to it. My kids are 29 and 25 now and my daughter has three kids and she told me “I am going to be a mean mommy too!”. Kids want discipline and structure even if they don't realize it at the time. Keep up the good work she will grow up to be a disciplined person.

  5. You did the right thing by following through with your no swimming discipline for her. It was hard on you not to go swimming but once we give in, then we loose all control.

  6. I know that title well. i admire you made it for 2 hours. My daughter colored her wall once and I made her clean it up and she had to stay in her room for an hour. Luckily she never did it again.:)

Leave a Reply

