1 and 2 Thessalonians and Philemon

 

So, I’m currently working my way through this study.  I’ve complete the first few lessons, and I’m really enjoying it. 

 

Before I get into my review, let me say a few quick things about my history with Bible studies:

 

I’ve been doing a Bible study off and on for most of my life, I’ve studied several books of the Bible in depth on my own, and some in studies with friends from church.

 

I’m a bit of a Bible snob, I tend to like word for word translations, and generally speaking in my own study use New American Standard, and more recently English Standard Version.  But, I probably own about 6 or 7 different translations.

 

Why do I provide that background?  So, you can understand why my liking a Bible study using NLT is a big deal.  The New Living Translation is one of the ones I tend to make fun of, because it’s more of a thought for thought, and it’s a bit looser of a translation (like I said I’m a bit of an elitist at times like this).

 

But, I gained a whole new appreciation for this translation as I read through how they created it in the introduction (yes, I am one of those people who read the introductions and forewords and the afterword, sometimes authors let slip hints about what is to come in future books, or important details, and it gives you an interesting insight into their mindset).

 

I’m the type of person who every time there is a foot note stops to read it, and it was a bonanza of footnotes in this study.  The books of the Bible you are going to be studying are included in this book (handy that it’s studying some shorter books), so you just needed to flip back and forth between the front and back to do your study, which means I could in theory fit it in my purse and work on it at the park.

 

The questions are really designed to be done with a small group, so you get a silly icebreakerish type of question (“What do you look for in an appliance for customer care?”  ummm that it works?).  Then it moves into analyzing the text or information about the city this happened in, and finally into application.  I liked how it moved through those three stages, and like I said it would make for a great study.

 

What didn’t I like.

 

The print on the footnotes is a little small.  I tend to do my Bible study when I’m in bed, and half the time my glasses are off, so it’s a little hard to read like that.

 

Like most studies I ran into questions I wasn’t sure what they were getting at, or I wasn’t able to answer easily.

 

But, overall I’d highly recommend this study, and I’m very thankful to Tyndale Publishing for providing me with a copy of this to review.  I’m looking forward to when I finish this study to finding another book in this series and buying it instead of getting a copy for review.

 

LEGAL MUMBO JUMBO: Tyndale Publishing provided me with a copy of this book to read and review, the opinions are mine, and I was not paid for this other than getting a copy of the book.

6 thoughts on “1 and 2 Thessalonians and Philemon

  1. Are there people who don't read all the footnotes in the Biblical text? They'd be missing so much.

    I read through a NLT Bible last year, and I enjoyed it for that purpose. The English flows well. Then, anytime some specific point caught my attention, I double checked it in a couple of other versions, just to be sure of the correctness of the language.

  2. I used to love my NSV until I think I gave it away or lost it. I haven't done Bible Studies in 2 years when I used to belong to a women's bible study group. They were hard core and really took bible study seriously. I felt that I was not knowledgeable in so many areas. Maybe I should look into doing a study.

  3. Interesting! I always read footnotes, forwards, introductions, epilogues, etc. in everything I read. I think it's weird that people don't. Your review is fantastic. Thanks.

  4. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my blog! What my post didn't tell you was that I colored in the tablecloth bus with a washable marker. Big mistake. My boys had black all over them!

Leave a Reply

