Pipe cleaner doll

Katie's Nesting Spot

Supplies: pipe cleaner, bead, yarn, markers

095

1.  Fold your pipe cleaner in half and cut it in half.  To start you only need half of it, but the other half will be used.

096

2.  Slip the bead onto the pipe cleaner and move it down about a half inch.  Open up the loop at the top a little to be able to slip the yarn through.

097

3.  Cut off about 2 feet or so of yarn, and start looping it back and forth in a width about 4-5 inches long.  Slip this through the loop and pull the bead up tight to the loop.

098

4.  Fold the other part of the pipe cleaner in half and slip it between the two legs of the first half.  This will form the arms.  Bend one of the arms back across the body so it is twisting around one of the pipe cleaners.

099

5.  Fold the pipe cleaner back towards the body at about 1-1.5 inches (unless you want your person to have huge arms, one of my kids did on their second or third doll).  Twist the extra pipe cleaner around itself forming the body.

100

6.  Repeat this with the other arm, but wait to wrap it around the body until you are done with the legs.  This helps to cut down on the pokies at the end.

101    
7.  Fold up one leg so it is about 1-1.5 inches long.  Wrap the extra pipe cleaner around the body.  Repeat with the other leg.  And wrap the final arm around the body, this should cover up most of the poky parts.

 094
8.  Let your kids happily color their doll’s head.

At the end you can cut the hair to be shorter, my kids always wanted me to.  To make sure the head would stay on and I wouldn’t lose all of the hair I tied some of the yarn around the top of the pipe cleaner.

102
Of course you can add clothes and the like, but we haven’t yet.  I’m sure I’ll be telling you about that when we do.  So for now we’ll call this part 1.

8 thoughts on “Pipe cleaner doll

  1. That's so clever! I have a ton of pipe cleaners sittin' around, now I know I can turn them into a whole family! Thanks for joining me at A Crafty Soiree! I really appreciate you joining it, I was kinda afraid there would be only be two or three links!

Leave a Reply

