History: Minoans

Photobucket“/>
001

One of our history lessons this week, in addition to the Egypt and mummies lesson was about the Minoans, and the minotaur.  Well, my kids really liked this concept, and so we built ourselves a maze for our minotaur.


While yes we could have gotten the super cool Minotaurus game, which I’m sure we will someday soon.  I want to save that for a Christmas present, and I”m not quite convinced my kids are old enough yet.

So, we made our own.

004 002
With much arguing about how to build this maze and what qualifies for something to be in the maze, and how the minotaur should look.
003

Finally, our first maze was built.  I say first because the kids decided we needed to build a second bigger one that took up most of the coffee table.

By the way, do you like our minotaur?  He’s in the middle (the lego guy with about 3 bricks on his head).

To follow up we watched the Disney Atlantis movie, because some theorize the disappearance of Crete is where Plato got the story of Atlantis from.

Here’s what the kids remembered about the Minoans:  The minotaur lived in a maze.  He was a bad guy.  He lived on Crete.  The king of the Minoans put him there.

For more history and geography ideas head over to Children Grow, Children Explore, Children Learn.

11 thoughts on “History: Minoans

  1. C loves mazes. This reminds me that I am looking forward to taking the kids to a corn maze in the fall.

    Are you happy with what the kids remembered? I think they did great!

  2. I'm not sure I would have thought to make the jump from the minotaur to the Atlantis movie, good to see the line of thinking. There's a minotaur in the Percy Jackson movie, but that one proved to scary for my kids (I watched it just to see Uma Thurman's Medusa – terrific!)

  3. What an awesome idea to build a labyrinth! I have visited Crete in 2000 – it's a pretty fascinating place. I even had an audacity to rent a car and drive around – not something that I would care to repeat any time soon.

Leave a Reply

