School Corner: forward to school!


That seemed much more amusing when I first wrote it.
Well, we’ve been back in town now for almost two weeks, and we’re mostly settled back in.  The house is still a mess, but I’m making slow progress on this.  You should see how amazingly clean my bathroom is, now my dining room……..
Did we do what I wanted on the trip?
Well, yes and no.  We saw the sights I wanted to see, but we didn’t get most of the schoolwork done I wanted to.  I have to figure out how to make that work better.  The kids got a fair amount of the random worksheets done, but I need to figure out a way to make that flow smoother and some it is just they’re not at the point of doing things on their own yet.  They can’t read the instructions, and so they need to be told how.

What have we done since we got back?
042 We’ve been working hard learning about Arizona and New Mexico.  I was going to separate the two of them, but they’re rather entwined by the American Indian tribes and the general culture of the area.

And continued to learn more about insects.

We’ve been busy working on numbers more.  The kids have gotten pretty good at our calendar game.  Now I’m moving it on to general counting and having them just put one number back after they’ve built that number with their Math-U-See blocks.

Oh, I saw this Montessori at home article, and thought it was very interesting.  In general I’m not a huge Montessori person, I was the kid in school who would roll their eyes at anything that felt like busy work, and I appear to of passed that on to my kids.  They don’t do well at repetitive tasks, so the transfer things they enjoyed once and then looked at me like I was crazy.  But, the aspect of doing every day tasks is the part of Montessori that appeals to me.  So, I enjoyed reading an article that emphasized the parts I really agree with and try to incorporate into our lives.  Hmmmm, maybe that’s the kid’s’ next task, fold my mountain of laundry.

Oh well, this has been rather ramble, I’m in a bit of a contemplative mood.  I want to keep participating in Preschool Corner, but I also don’t really enjoy writing a post that is just a recap of what I already wrote before, so I’m trying to figure out how I want to do this from here on out.  I don’t know.  We’ll see what wild and wacky thing I do next.

13 thoughts on “School Corner: forward to school!

  1. I was going to say what The girl who painted trees said, just link up an activity if that works better for you.

    I know what you mean about busy work. I have one child who loves Montessori type work, but the other two just don't fit with it. I'll check out that link now, thanks.

  2. Montessori type activities have been hit and miss here. Anna never did any kind of sorting and transfer “in prescribed way”. At the same time she can do her own busy work that involves sorting and counting, but it has to fit into her imaginary world.
    I sort of like review posts, because they help me to remember what happened that week… or so I tell myself. I am yet to reread all prior review posts that I wrote 🙂

  3. You don't have to do a recap if you don't want too! 🙂 Link and activity you did {science…anything!!!}.

    It took me a second to figure out what you thought was funny…and then I got it {haha}.

    p.s. I have our science post ready for Sunday and can't wait to link up to your post!

  4. My sister recommends the book “Teach Me to Do It Myself” as a montessori activities in the home approach – you might be interested in it? It's on my list of books to borrow from the library…

    How many worksheets do young kids need, anyway?

  5. Yeah, I don't really think that I could do recap posts every week. I've thought about linking up to Tot School before but the thought of writing those long posts is what turned me off. Maybe one day. I'd probably get some new followers if I did lol.

    My son is 2 months old now and I still haven't got everything “back to normal” when it comes to the housecleaning. I used to have scheduled days when I did laundry, bathrooms, etc and I have pretty much left that to when I get to it. But its getting to the point that I can't blame the newborn anymore lol.

  6. Crumpet always starts out doing the Montessori activity and then it morphs into mess making. But it seems to be good for motor skills and learning to help around the house, so occasionally we do it. I have the same issue with posts, but somehow manage to babble and babble anyway. A lot of it is for my own records, and if others like to suffer through it, I'm happy to oblige!

  7. I would like to do some of theose Montessori life applications as well. They seem pretty interesting. I just don't know how I feel about handing my 3 year old a knife to cute fruit and veggies…lol.

  8. I think it's hard to do too much “school” while you travel, but I wouldn't sweat it. The hands on activities, museums, etc. that you did are far more lasting lessons than worksheets!

    Also – not sure why, but keep getting a blogger error when I try to leave a comment with my open id on your site, but not others.

  9. I have a really hard time getting to everything I want to get to on vacations, too! I have an idea of how I want it to play out. It's hard for me to get them to complete things in the car because I have to constantly turn around and help all 3 of them. And then I get carsick. 🙂 And at the hotel, we usually get in so late, we're tired. When you figure it all out, share with me! You're such a great mom and teacher. I love reading your ideas and stories. I love the picture of him staring in at you. I have SO had to make my kids GO OUTSIDE and wait. And they go from front to back, looking in.

Leave a Reply

