Raising Rock Stars: Creation

So, this is a bit of an odd post, since our history curriculum is written from a Christian point of view it includes things from the Bible.  So, I wasn’t quite sure whether to put this as history or Bible, so I’m going to do a bit of both.
We read the first few lessons in The Mystery of History and learned about how God created the world and how God created man.  To reinforce this we did two things:

001 1.  We made a mini-booklet where the kids took turns illustrating the different days of creation.  This one was my favorite picture.  Batman drew God resting on His bed in heaven.  He was quite proud of himself.  Okay, so I was proud of him too.

2.  They tried to mold man out of play-doh, like God molded Adam from the dirt.  We all agreed it was hard, and we’re very glad that we didn’t have to try and make a person out of dirt.  It’s hard.

006 004
My little creator had quite a lot of fun making his human.

Then just like God we rested from all our hard work.
011 010
Well, the boys rested.  Princess……… well after a while I gave up on her resting, and she painted her fingernails.
009And she’s quite proud of herself.
Raising Rock Stars

11 thoughts on “Raising Rock Stars: Creation

  1. Great lesson. They look like they really enjoyed it too.

    I also wanted to let you know that we went to see Toy Story 3 thanks to your summer bucket list! I'll be posting it later this week.

  2. So cute!

    Imagine the responsibility of creating man and the world. The thought makes me tired.

    I'm impressed with the fingernails too. I don't even paint mine. Reagan would love to paint hers if Daddy would allow it (he's not budging on that).

  3. Very cute, it so gorgeous when they really start participating in the lessons and you have stuff to show for it isn't it!

    LOL on the blog design…I spent quite awhile looking at clip art pictures. I saved about 10 of my favourites, then mulled over them, got rid of a few more, then asked the family to vote (yes I was that bad) and that weeded out a few more.

    In the end what I have is not even one of the graphics I picked. I did have monkey's but Jolanthe stumbled onto the one we used in the end.

    Probably no help at all but good luck. I think in the end it will always look good and I just reminded myself that whatever I ended up with had to be better than what I had!!

  4. Why would you nap when you can make your nails all pretty! I think if I ever let my little girl do this she would request it EVERY single time during rest time.

    I know what you mean about making people out of play doh – it is a real skill.

    This post made me smile.

Leave a Reply

