Backyard Bible Clubs become Kids Clubs

And we had about 80 kids and about 30 adults participating in the various Bible studies at our site alone.  I think total for all of the different sites was about 300 kids and 90 adults.
093
What are Kids Clubs you ask?  I’m glad you did.

Okay, stopping to take a break and take a quick bath before heading to the Urgent Care, I think I have Strep, and the doctor isn’t open on Sunday, this is what happens when you do way too much stuff all in one week.

097

Well, it’s a day later.  I didn’t test positive for strep, but I’m being treated like I have it.  After a while it gets old seeing the doctor sigh, and have to think of a new way to treat me since I can’t take penicillin.   So, I spent most of yesterday comatose, with Jeff keeping the kids out of my hair as much as possible.

119
So, Kid’s Clubs.  What we do is we take a group of teenagers, and they get trained for a week in another city.  Back when I was in the youth group we went up to Waco, and trained for a week in inner city Waco, and had 3 minutes for showers, and we couldn’t flush the toilet while someone was taking a shower, or there would be very bad results.  But, now they get posh digs, like church sanctuaries to sleep in.  Spoiled I say.

126

So, after their week of training, learning how to present the gospel, how to tell the story, games to play and the like.  They come back to Austin and do clubs for a week.  We’ve changed it now so that they do two clubs in parks.  One in the morning, where we serve breakfast to the kids, and one in the evening where we serve dinner to them.

131

The teens teach the lessons, tell the stories, and do all of the “work.”  The adults get the boring stuff, registration, set-up, serving food, taking pictures.  Okay, taking pictures isn’t the end of the world.

169
I need to go check on the kids, they sound like they’re having too much fun.

Yeah…….  They had added so much bubble bath to their bath water it had turned pink.  Not a light pink, but I think it was almost a jar full.  I bet I could get another bubble bath out of that.

139

Part of the fun of this for me, aside from reliving memories of my teen years.  Is seeing all of the different kids interacting, and seeing the enjoyment of the kids from the neighborhood.

164

My kids had a blast with this.  They kept asking when it was time to go back to their kid club.  “Mommy, is it time yet?”

076

Not too surprisingly the most popular day was Water Day!  We get to play at a park and get wet at the same time?  SCORE!

End results:
029 028
At our site on Friday we had 72 kids, I’d guess about 30 adults present.  I know there were at least 3 adults who came to Christ, I’d guess 10 kids who came to Christ.  Maybe 4 or 5 families who said they were going to be at our church on Sunday.

Total I think there were about 280 kids in clubs with 80 adults across four different clubs.

All in all, it was an awesome event!  And man am I tired.

10 thoughts on “Backyard Bible Clubs become Kids Clubs

  1. My son use to love to participate in kid's clubs as a teen. They went to all sorts of places, then come home and do the same as you mentioned here. The kid's always enjoyed it!

  2. What an awesome event. It is wonderful that teens take on the role of teaching. Your children will look forward to Kids Club every time it is held and before you know it, they will be doing the teaching and making life long memories just as you did.

    Hope you are feeling better. We have all had sore throats here too – this nasty bug sure loves our house, just when I think we're done someone seems to get it back again.

  3. WOW! The Lord is amazing! I love this idea. I have heard of it before, but not anywhere near where we live. More often I hear about it in the South. I really love this idea.

Leave a Reply

