Works for Me Wednesday: trimming seams

I thought of titling this post like Mother, like Daughter…….

049 012  013009

But, in reality the post is about this:
050
The super easiest way to trim curves and seams.  So, when you’re sewing you are supposed to clip your curves of your seams.  In theory you clip little triangle wedges out of the curves that are supposed to curve in (think crotch, collars), and clip slits in curves that go out (think princess seams) to make them lie smooth.  Here’s what I do once I’m sure I won’t need to rip the seam out.

I get my pinking shears and just trim the seam with those, so much faster than cutting those little triangles, and it has the added benefit of finishing the seam at the same time.  Princess seams I still tend to do the slits, because I’m often lining those and don’t care about if the seam is finished.

For more great quick tips head over to We Are That Family and Works for Me Wednesday.  

7 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday: trimming seams

  1. I need to remember to do this, too. Somehow, my pinking shears like to disappear on me!
    Your daughter is handling those scissors so carefully for such a little girl! I bet you will enjoy sewing with her as she gets older.

  2. How wonderful that she is learning sewing from you. I've been taking for lessons for about 5 years. It is a wonderful hobby, I just wish I had learned when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

