Our California studies

Photobucket

Or, at least that’s the ones we read as of when I started this post.  I realized later I need to go back and add in more, and show what all it looks like. Hmmmm, I’m not remembering Fire Race, so maybe not that one.
So, here’s what our lapbook looks like:
001
003  LEFT SIDE:

Gold coins- Superman’s narrative: “We had to find gold coins, but I couldn’t find them because it was hard.”  His memory of this activity.
One of the animals in California is the sea otter, so that was our animal printable.
Humphrey the Whale summary- “He turned under the little bridge and he got lost.  It got smaller and smaller.  The people banged pipes and Humphrey got mad and he splashed.  Then he got very angry and he said, “Stop banging pipes and let me see if I can duck under the bridge.”  At the end he got back to his friends.  And he got under the little bridge.”  Batman
“He went the wrong direction of his friends and he got lost.  He should go the right way to go back to the ocean.  He squeezed through the holes by lifting up one of his fins.”  Superman.
Read more about this true story and see a video here.
Symbols of California- printable from the California Museum (which also has some cool craft ideas) go here.
002

RIGHT SIDE:
map with California colored in
postcards from Natalie over at Mouse Grows, Mouse Learns.  I have to wrestle postcards away from the kids to put these in the envelopes.  They LOVE getting mail!

OTHER RESOURCES:
Monarch butterfly craft we did- while it’s not the state insect, I totally associate it with California.
Gold Rush Unit Study for somewhat older than preschool
Orange Juice is a blog written by my friend Kristi who lives in California, this is linked to her field trips.
Mouse Grows, Mouse Learns has a couple of posts about San Francisco that are cool to read.
I think Joyful Learner is also in the California area, or she’s got a couple of posts there.

And that’s all I got for ya on California.
Now head on over to Children Grow, Children Explore, Children Learn to see other fun Geography posts.

6 thoughts on “Our California studies

  1. We haven't studied CA yet. I'm looking forward to it because there are so many cool things to learn! Thanks for the links. I wish I could get into lapbooking; it has just never happened.

  2. Great study on California. Too funny that your kids talked about a lost whale, while Selena learned how a lost whale can end up in a river!

  3. Sounds like a fun learning project! I am amazed at how detailed your lesson is… I really should add more detail to our geography lessons. We are about to make our postcard collage.

Leave a Reply

