Art Box and Kiddos Create: wood creations

I haven’t linked up to either of these for a while, it seems like we haven’t really done much art, or at least not something that is worth posting about for a while.  I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things, but there’s just some times where I’m still sad or feel like I’m catching up.  So, it’s coming.
010
They finally finished up their Little House houses…….  Ummmm, that did sound rather repetitive.  I’ve only got a picture of Princess’ house, because the boys’ promptly disappeared into the black hole that is their room, and I haven’t found their pictures yet.  She quite proudly explained to me that the shapes on the sticks are stop signs, so people won’t drive into her house.  I personally found it amusing that the door is tiled in early Disney Princess, and the siding is done on a diagonal.

015
Natalie, over at Mouse Grows, Mouse Learns was nice enough to send a “Get Well soon/Thinking of You” box over back around when Princess got her surgery.  It had a couple of cool crafts in it to do, and we finally sat down and did it.  Which made the boys so happy!  Seriously, they always ask to do it when we’re going somewhere in 5 minutes, and I’m not about to start trying to paint and put together planes in that amount of time.  But, we finally did it.
022023  As you can see it was very hard to get a good picture of the finished product.  Ever since they finished making them they’ve been running around flying them and shooting imaginary bad guys.  But, it’s been a HUGE hit.  We are definitely getting more of them, and unlike what I thought, you actually can make these with little guys, I’ve been seeing these at Michael’s for years and thinking soon, soon…….  Well soon has come, and I’m sure we’ll soon have a  whole arsenal of wooden vehicles in our house.
009
There’s a slightly, and by slightly I mean not really, better shot of Batman’s plane.  Interesting, I was thinking that first picture was of Superman, but it’s really Batman.  Unless Superman is holding Batman’s plane.
And Princess made a boat, which apparently I have no pictures of.  I’m sure that will change at some point in the future.  Imagine something that is all black.  She has never painted so obsessively with black before.

001 
And finally, did you know that Home Depot has free workshops?  Actually, this picture isn’t from the workshop, this is lunch afterwards, not that I look more closely.  But, it’s still a funny picture.  Batman is creating his very own rice taco.  All the starch you could ever want.
Ummm…… let me go get my camera and get the pictures from my camera rather than from my phone.

003
Seriously if you ever get a chance to go to one of these, it’s totally worth it.  They give you everything you need to do it, and you just get to let your kid sit there and hammer and screw away.  The project was supposed to be a butterfly house, but they ran out of those, so we made a rain gauge.   It was a lot of fun.  We’ll be painting them soon enough, so I’m sure you’ll get more pictures.
009 008
And finally we dyed Easter eggs, but the kids seemed much more interested in dying themselves than in the eggs.  Look at that gleeful look on Batman’s face as he turned himself blue.  Realy, isn’t that disturbing?  And, apparently I bought a bad batch of dye because when I put the eggs outside it promptly ran off in the dew.  Oh well.
For more great ideas head over to Nicole at Tired, Need Sleep (don’t we all?) and Jenn over at Mama Jenn.

6 thoughts on “Art Box and Kiddos Create: wood creations

  1. Wow, you had a lot of various wood projects and painting too. I loved the last picture with the eggs, but it also reminded me why we didn't do eggs yet again here. I am glad that the planes were a hit with the boys – I hope they will get a lot of play time. We have a boat still waiting to be constructed. One of these days…

  2. I love that Princess put stop signs on her house to keep people from driving into it. Very clever! Love the blue hands. And I've been so looking forward to those Home Depot lessons. Crumpet is maybe a bit too young, but next year, we're there!!

Leave a Reply

