Sherwood Forest

Well, I’d do a Preschool Corner post, but I’m feeling lazy, and instead I want to talk about the cool new Rennaissance Faire we went to last weekend.  There’s a new one in Austin called Sherwood Forest Faire.
First, before we even headed off we were busy getting dressed and Princess asked “Mommy, where’s my dress?”  Well, she hadn’t wanted a dress earlier when I was busy making my costume, so I hadn’t made her one.  So, now here comes my 20 MINUTE MIRACLE!
068
I made it much like I made the boys’ Blue Arrow shirts.  She lay down on the fabric, and I cut out a rectangle that came a little past her waist.  Then I sewed up the side seams.  Folded in the arm holes, and trimmed that up.  Then, cut out a head hole.  I slipped it over her head, and it would fit, but it was a hard fit.  So, I cut it down the front, and sewed on some velcro.  Then with the remaining fabric, I sewed one side seam, so it was a tube.  Ran a quick gathering stitch.  Tried it on and discovered it was too long.  So, I put a bunch of ribbon through at the waistline, and then tied it up, as you can see in the picture.  Then I sewed a nice fat piece of trim over the waistline to hide all the messy gathering and to make it cuter.   So, then I stuffed her in it, and got dressed myself (the trials and tribulations of making my costume will have to be another post, once I have a picture of me in my failed dress, really it was horrible.  I swear the dress hates me).
058 072
We brought along some kids from church, who I’ll call Thing 1 and Thing 2, my boys are absolutely fascinated with them, partially because they’re also twins, and partially because they’re older.  They had a blast shooting bows and arrows, Jeff got to try an actual long bow.  Which he discovered is hard to shoot, and from everything I’ve read that’s an understatement.
084

Princess was absolutely fascinated by my pet gryphon, and thus started the great gryphon hunt.  She is absolutely positive that if she looks long enough she will find her own pet gryphon.  I don’t think she will be successful in her hunt, but maybe we’ll scare one up one of these days.  It probably will not be as cool as mine, because mine actually moves.
Of course the boys now want pet dragons…….

107 103 104  105 
I love mazes.  They’re so much fun.  Sadly the big boys taught mine you can sneak under the walls…….  I wasn’t so thrilled with that, but I still love to go through mazes.  There’s just something fun about them.
112116 115
And fishing is always a perennial favorite.  Superman kept at it a long time until he was finally able to catch a couple of fish on his own.  Batman caught one with help and was happy with that.  Actually he looks somewhat angry in that picture.  Never tell them to smile for pictures, I always get weird looks from them.
121

Superman was given a dragon’s tear by one of the players, and he was told that if he kept it near his pillow it would keep away bad dreams at night.  Of course the others had to go and hunt one down to get their own dragon tear.  Which led to their discovery of sand art…..

127129  128
All five of the kids did this, and all of them loved it.  Thing 1 and Thing 2 made theirs to give to their Mom.  My kids happily taunted each other with their bottles and then once we got home Batman broke his, with many cries and tears, and luckily no glass in any toes.
142 141
Princess didn’t really want to play any games, but she very much wanted to go to the fairy tea party.  That she really enjoyed.  We had so much fun sitting and eating little crackers and fruit skewers, I’ll say I was baking and was thinking I wish I could find a drink stand to order a water bottle to guzzle down.
But all in all, it was a really fun day.  I don’t think we’ll try going again with five kids.  That was a lot of kids for 2 adults, it’s not that any one kid was misbehaving, it’s just a lot of kids.
And here’s random photos I like, but have no real story for them.
151 152 045070086 153 134 069
So, that’s what we did last Saturday.  We had a blast!  I can’t wait until next year when they actually have real bathrooms, and not port-a-potties.  Let me just say taking a potty training 3 year old in one was not fun.

9 thoughts on “Sherwood Forest

  1. I can't believe that you whipped up a dress for Princess in 20 minutes! I also can't imagine taking care of 5 kids, but of course you are building your tolerance level by having three of your own 🙂 It sounds like the fair was a lot of fun!

  2. Looks like so much fun! We love Renaissance Festivals too, but we've only been to one since Crumpet was born, and he was just a bit too young to have much interest. Now, he'd go bananas! Great job on the dress.

  3. I am so impressed that you can create a dress in twenty minutes!

    It sounds like you had a great time! Our Renaissance festival isn't as nice as yours!

  4. Cute dress that you whipped together! Now come on Thing 1 and Thing 2?? Remind me to not leave Selena with you, what would you call her? It 1! Love it!

  5. Princess's dress looks great, and I think this event looks very cool! I wonder if there are any Renaissance fairs near us…

    I actually did archery for one year of high school and learned to shoot long bow, but was never very good at it. Crazy hard.

Leave a Reply

