stART: Deer in the Woods


Hey, it finally quit being a link when I typed!  Good.

As you may have figured out from my posts we’ve been reading the books in the “My First Little House” series.  They’ve been a lot more popular than I expected, and it’s been fun to see.  I wanted a way to expand on what we’d done so far, and then I saw a post over at Inspiration Surrounds, Creativity Abounds about their fairy houses, and I so wanted to do it!  The only problem I had is all the boxes I’d been saving I’ had recently thrown away.  I was going to solve this by going by our local recycling center, but I was put off by their website making it sound a lot more official than it probably is, but still……..

So, I rummaged all through my house and finally found 3 shoe boxes.  BINGO!
018

I set them off with shoe boxes, glue, and popsicle sticks of various sizes.  They happily sat there and glued sticks on and requested doors and windows cut into them.  All in all it was a happy time for them while I went through the drudgery of cleaning.
Yes, I did not have as much fun as them.
017

You’ll have to wait to see the finished products because I’m using pictures of them for our Wisconsin lapbook.  I’m going to make it into a card and have them tell me as much as they can remember about the girls who lived in the woods.  Which, I’m guessing will be mainly about their Dad who went hunting.
I leave you hanging on what the final products looked like.  Partially I’m leaving you hanging because I want them do more with it.  So far the boys have glued a few popsicle sticks on, and then left it that way.  I want them to paint it or color it more, but Superman’s banned from anything related to coloring until Monday (he wrote his name on the door in marker, then he tried to lie about it, ummm…… that’s your name and your handwriting, I don’t think you can get away with saying it’s not yours).
So, for more great book inspired artwork go over to A Mommy’s Adventures

10 thoughts on “stART: Deer in the Woods

  1. It's a great idea to make a house out of a shoebox. We had a similar problem with Anna this week – she pulled a page out of the book “to make a bookmark” and then tried to tell us that she didn't know what happened. No books for 2 days – terrible punishment for her. Lots of crying.

  2. I do adore Little House books, of any kind…I would have a hard time finding any shoe boxes around our house since Jungle Girl decided to use them all to make a robot…

  3. Early on Selena tore pages, we would leave the book with the torn page loosely inside. Everytime she went to read the page fell out and she would cry. She doesn't tear pages anymore!

    Great idea building houses out of shoe boxes, can't wait to see the final project.

Leave a Reply

