Daniel story to share with you

Well, I was going to try and wait to share this until I got all of Daniel done, but I’m just struggling with chapter 1, and I discovered I didn’t save chapter 3 when I wrote it, and chapter 2 I have to go back and color it, because I figured out it doesn’t work super well in black and white, so I have chapter 4.
010
After that long and rather confusing introduction let me go back and explain.  Last fall we started going through the Bible using Bible Study Guide with our kids.  I love it, instead of hopping around it goes through each character thoroughly.  They take 13 weeks to cover Joseph, and 6 weeks to cover the book of Daniel.  What’s more they have it broken down into 3 different levels, beginner (designed for 3 years to 1st grade), intermediate (for 2-4 or 5th grade), and advanced (I’d say for junior high age).  They have application questions for each age range and so on and so forth.
009 The only problem I have with it is most of the stories covered aren’t really included in children’s Bibles, some I can see why, but a lot of them should be.  Do you know how many extensions I thought of with Daniel chapter 1?  But, it’s not included in kid’s Bibles.  So, starting with Daniel I started making illustrated versions for my kids based off the illustrations that came with the study.
And, since I figured other people might be in the same boat as me, I figured I’d share it with everyone.  And, yes the pictures aren’t great, and yes there’s definite scaling problems, but it achieves what I’m trying for.
Daniel 4

Hopefully you like it.   I’ll probably link this up to Carissa’s Raising Rock Stars post later on if you want to check out other Bible story ideas.

10 thoughts on “Daniel story to share with you

  1. That is something I struggle with as well, most of the Bible stories and lessons are just briefly covered in any children's bible. These are great! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Hey, maybe you should write your own Bible for Children. I can see why many of the Bible stories are not in the kids Bibles. Just today I was in the store looking at Passover books and rejecting all of them because they are all so scary. Now I am in a fix, because I really want to cover Passover as part of our study of Israel. I guess I will have to give my own abbreviated version without any books. If you know a good one, I am all ears.

  3. Very nice, thanks for sharing.

    Stopped on by to say “hey, I even got my hubby reading Twilight.”

    Took the time to read your newest post and am really impressed. Great job.

  4. WOW! I am impressed. I have absolutely know drawing talent. You did a great job. I know what you mean about children's Bibles not having all of the stories in them. Way to go for doing it yourself!

  5. This is great. I didn't grow up with a beginners Bible, but got almost all of my Bible stories from the Arch Books. I still remember the illustrations from those books, whenever I'm in their particular part of the Bible, they really stuck with me – so I think it's great, that you're making something similar for your own children – it should really help them to retain the text.

  6. I think those pics are AWESOME. You're right, kids Bibles really seem to do the same stories over and over…and since the book of Daniel covers his WHOLE life, you never see anything except the lion's den!

    Thanks for the great resource!
    amanda at impressyourkids dot com

Leave a Reply

