Science Sunday: teeth

 

So, I’ve had the supplies to make homemade ice cream for two weeks.  We just haven’t had the opportunity.  We’ve had this cool book of experiments and other stuff called Howtoons, but life just hasn’t worked out.  I’m going to try for tomorrow, and hopefully life won’t interfere……
So, what did we do this week?  It’s been inspired by an episode of Dinosuar Train, which my kids absolutely love, and they sing the theme song all the time.  It helps that it’s mostly repeating “Dinosaur Train” over and over and over again.
Well, in the episode we were watching Buddy loses a tooth, and learns about how T-Rexs continually lose their teeth and get new ones.  This of course led to their wanting to figure out if they would lose teeth.
So, we talked about how people start to lose teeth when they’re around the boys age.  Some people lose them older (I didn’t lose my first tooth until almost second grade, so almost seven).   They were absolutely intrigued by this.
Then I talked about how some people will also lose teeth because they didn’t take care of their teeth and didn’t brush their teeth, then I sent them upstairs to brush their teeth.
Nice, simple easy.
So, do you ever cover science topics as it comes up in conversation?  A good portion of ours is covered that way.  Now, how about you?  What did you do for science this week?  Link up with any science related post.

6 thoughts on “Science Sunday: teeth

  1. Oh yes, we had that same discussion after watching that episode. That was when Selena played tooth fairy!

    Isn't it funny what they pick up from certain shows, that we can actually turn into learning!

  2. That is something I adore about homeschooling- it just seems to happen ALL THE TIME- whether its through a TV show (We LOVE “Dinosaur Train”) or daily conversations and chores!

  3. You know, a lot of science happens this way here too, but I am simply drawing a blank on what exactly we discussed lately. I know that I've been thinking at the time that the topic might make it into the science post at the time 🙂 I hope the boys will keep their baby teeth for a while longer 🙂

  4. We do so much learning by just talking. I don't blog about most of it because there isn't much to show. But our Science Sunday post about teeth was also based on discussion rather than projects. I had a lot of ideas for projects, but we just don't get around to them very often.

  5. I'm always amazed by how much my children learn watching tv, and how much they enjoy expanding upon what they have learned on tv. It makes me feel better!

Leave a Reply

