Geography: Our city and the beginning of Texas

PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPETEROOOOOOJMUIERJUNFGUH YGYNY UHNUIBNUMJKHNNBKJHGJGKGLF;’FGVBYH.,MK7 BUHYJDDDDDDDDDPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPKKNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN,      ,,,,,,,,,111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
Apparently that’s what my kids had to say in my post I left open to draft………
047
This is the famous round rock that our city of Round Rock was named after.  I know we’re very original, aren’t we?
I wanted to start teaching the kids a little bit about our local area and so we made a field trip of it.
050  We carefully crossed over as close as we could get to see it without getting into the water.  I promised the kids we’d come again in the summer when they could get in the water.  They’re kind of used to coming to this park and playing in the creek.  So, it was a little hard for them to not go in the water.
058
Afterwards we spent some time throwing sticks into the river.  If you look really closely you can see Superman has a piece of string in his hands that is tied to a stick.  He found someone’s old fishing line and had thrown the stick in the river and was pulling it around.  Of course after he’d let it go and had wandered off I realized I should have gathered up the fishing line so it didn’t get caught on some poor duck.  The things you realize after the fact.

060 061 066
And then they had to try all the places they could throw sticks.
That was our first activity.  After we learned about our city we started to learn about our state.

First we read L is for Lone Star.  This is a great series if you ever get a chance to read these, there is one for each state in the union.  I had this from back in my teaching days, and it does a great job of giving you some fun facts about the state, one for each letter of the alphabet.  If you have a kid a little older than mine than you can read them the extra facts, or if they’re little like mine just stick with the one sentence statements.
As I read the book I thought of all sorts of great day trips I could go on if I were doing this forever and a day long study of Texas.  This is definitely one of the advantages of homeschooling, as long as it is in my budget I can do as many field trips as I want.  So, I could take them to the Texas Ranger museum, or go the the Alamo, or the Dr. Pepper museum, or the Blue Bell ice cream factory (I was kind of surprised this wasn’t the b word, but I guess it does make more sense to use the state flower, but come one “Blue Bell, the best ice cream in the country,” what Texan doesn’t know that jingle?), and the state capital down in Austin.
Of those my plans are to go to the state capital, originally that was going to happen last Friday, but………  After that I’m thinking either Dr Pepper museum or the Blue Bell ice cream factory.  Many of the others are probably better when the kids are older.
We also read The Legend of the Bluebonnet by Tomie dePaola.  I’ll have a post specifically for that later this week.  In theory.
For more great geography ides head on over to Children Explore, Children Learn, Children Grow.
Oh, and this is the first post I wrote in Windows Live Writer, or at least first one I scheduled.  We’ll see if it shows up at 4:13 today.

11 thoughts on “Geography: Our city and the beginning of Texas

  1. It's neat that you got to see the famous rock and to learn so much about Texas. I admit that I am a lot more motivated to “travel” virtually around the world, but maybe next year we will strike closer to home and will learn a lot more about California.

  2. Too funny! I used to let my kiddos “type” emails to their grandparents who lived out of state…

    (I bet kiddos write on a higher level plain than we can understand…)

  3. Love what your kids had to say about their geography lesson! That looks like Selena's work.

    Looks like a great field trip!

    How do you like LiveWriter? I love it myself!

  4. I love this idea of exploring your own town. And I've never heard of the L is for Lone Star books before–I'm on the lookout for stuff like that as my daughter is just now getting interested in geography!

  5. A field trip is a fun way to learn about your local area and make a lasting impression.

    I read your “beauty full” post about Sam. What a caring, special friend and blessing he was to you. I am so sorry for your loss. I will continue to keep you and Sam's family in my prayers.

  6. I love seeing them by the river after getting the postcard talking about playing there. And I really like the idea of exploring your local area. I need to weave this idea into my geography lessons.

  7. Don't make fun of “the rock”. It is alright to do it when you are there, because I did, too. But now that I am far away, it makes me sad to see the rock. We used to throw water balloons filled with paint at it for our big rivalry high school game. I know you know which one I am talking about, because you were on the other side of it. 😛

  8. Ok, I had no idea that there is actually a Round Rock. It is a great idea to study more from our state. Where is the Blue Bell museum? I need to go there. Did you guys get our postcards? Diego was creative with some of the stamps so I hope they got there ok.

  9. I am all about Dr. Pepper!! fun! We love to explore too! We are doing a post card project too.. and tonight I find ya all doin it in blogland! I love it! If you need one from Wa … please email me! We have family in San Antonio so we are covered for TX. Looking forward to following ya!
    Just Jenn~ http://www.seizingmyday.com

Leave a Reply

