A meal that went completely wrong and still tasted good

So really, I don’t know how this meal could have gone much more wrong than it did, but here goes:

Mexican Enchilada Suiza Lasagna

ngredients

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken stock (or beef stock, because when I got to that step I discovered I was out of chicken)
  • 1/2 pound shredded pepper jack cheese (ummmm, and then I found out I didn’t have the right cheese, so it was colby jack and cheddar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 9 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 18 corn tortillas (I bought flour)
  • 4 cups cooked cubed or bite size chicken meat  (I used cooked chicken fajitas)
  • 2 teaspoons Emeril’s Southwest Essence (oops, forgot to get this)
  • 6 poblano peppers, roasted, peeled and seeded (oops, forgot to get this)
  • 1 cup chopped green onions (oops, forgot to get this didn’t chop it up and put it in)
  • 3/4 pound (3 cups) shredded Monterey Jack cheese (sigh was out of it, so cheddar again)
  • 1 cup chopped fresh tomatoes (was going to substitute Rotel, but was out of that, so I used salsa, and then the next day I broke the big huge bottle, it was a really bad week)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves, plus more for garnishing, if desired (I always leave this out because my husband hates it, and has threatened to go major in bio-engineering to figure out how to destroy the “detestable weed,” on this we’ll disagree)
  • 4 ounces Queso Anejo, shredded (substitute Parmesan if unavailable), completely forgot this
So, as you can see I made a few changes.  Let me walk through what I did, and where I went wrong.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1.  Melt butter, and then whisk in the flour in a medium large saucepan.  No problems here.

2.  Whisk in milk little by little, as you do so notice that this pan won’t be nearly large enough.  This step it really does help to do it little by little, and I was very glad I actually LISTENED to directions.

3.  Add the chicken beef stock and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes or so and let it thicken.

4.  Add the cheese, wonder how with 10 minutes to get the cheese ready you’re still needing to grind it up as you add it in.  Really, this day was horrible.  Stir until melted.

5.  Turn off heat and let rest while you get the rest of the stuff together.

6.  He has you heat the tortillas, because you know I had time for this while the kids were upstairs screaming, so we had cold tortillas.

7.  Grease a 9×13 casserole dish.  Or if you’re stupid brilliant like me, decide you don’t want a bunch of leftovers, and do this in an 8×8 pan.

8.  Pour about 1 cup of the sauce on the bottom of the dish.  Cover this with a layer of tortillas.  Top with half the chicken and the seasoning I forgot to buy, the peppers I didn’t get, and the onions I totally spaced on  salsa, and some cheese.  Start seriously thinking about cursing as you notice some green cheese, and you scoop off this entire layer, and do it over again.  Then add more sauce.

9.  Repeat step 8 until you’ve got a couple of nice layers.  Put one last layer of tortillas on, and then pour more sauce on and top it off with some more cheese.  Now, if you’d put this in a larger dish you’d have plenty of room to be able to put on the aluminum foil and not worry about it pulling off the cheese.  I didn’t do that.

10.  Cover with aluminum foil, and bake 45 minutes, remove foil and bake another 15 minutes or until the casserole is bubbling.  In reality I baked it for 20 minutes, and then pulled it out of the oven because we needed to eat before we went to small group, and this day really couldn’t get much worse.

FINAL VERDICT: despite the fact that I don’t think I made it anywhere near how it was intended the sauce was pretty good.  Jeff would have preferred it as chicken and egg noodles with the sauce served over it, kind of like gravy.  It really was very tasty, but like a lot of things that day nothing went quite right, but we did eventually get to small group REALLY late, and had a LOT OF FUN.

Check out more great recipes over at I Blame My Mother.
7 thoughts on “A meal that went completely wrong and still tasted good

  1. I really laughed about this… I have days like that too and I don't even have screaming kids upstairs! I'm glad that you have such a great sense of humor about it!

  2. Oh no! At least it was good! You should be thankful that you know how to make substitutions…had a friend call this week because she didn't have the right kind of cheese that the recipe called for and didn't know what to do. Most of what I make ends up nothing like the recipe.

    You win the “battled through it and still got it posted” award! Thanks for making FNCCC something fun!

  3. It sounds delicious, both as intended and as prepared:). I'm so sorry to hear about your day. Yesterday was kind of stinky in general:/. I hope today was better!

Leave a Reply

