I could really use prayers right now

I’ve shared this with a few of you, but most of you don’t know that one of my best friends has cancer.  He’s been there for me through so many things, and he married my best friend, and I love him so much.

I am so scared right now.  He is at Stage 4 of the cancer, and is currently taking the last viable treatment for his form of cancer.  I know this is all in God’s will, and that He is ultimately in control, but they just got some bad news today, and she’s trying to figure out how to share it with him with all of the pain medication he’s on right now.

I don’t know how to talk about this with my kids.  How do I share what’s going on with them?  I can’t stop crying, and Batman keeps asking about what happens when people die and I don’t what to do.

So, what I’m saying is I could really use your prayers right now for wisdom, for strength, and for how best to help my friends.  I just don’t know what to do.

11 thoughts on “I could really use prayers right now

  1. Oh Ticia! what a devistating thing to be dealing with right now. I am so, so sorry. I will be praying for you as u requested as well as your friend & their family. Hugs & kisses to you during this terribly hard time.

  2. I am so sorry. My oldest daughter has been fixating on death lately- my grandmother died last year from complications due to ALS, and E is just figuring out that I only have one grandma. Where's the other one? Where is grandpa's wife? The best thing I've done so far is teach her about Christ- His atonement, His crucifixion, and His miraculous resurrection. And that because He was resurrected, we can all be resurrected some day. And that we'll all be together after this life. It's such a sweet thing to see how readily children will accept this- that we existed before this life, and we'll exist after this life. The best thing for kids is to know the truth, and if they know we aren't afraid of the truth, they won't have reason to be either.

    Courage Mama- you'll know what to do. And peace to you, your family, your friend, and his family.

  3. Ticia, I'm praying for you… for comfort and for wisdom to answer your children's questions. I'm praying for your friend too, and his wife and family. I'm so sorry they've had bad news and I can't imagine how hard it must be for her right now in figuring out how to share it with someone so sick. I'm so sorry… and so sad that this is happening at this time of year.
    If you need to vent or talk or whatever, I'm just an email away, more than willing to listen. Take care.

  4. My prayers are with you and your friend. I am so sorry – I do not even know how to begin to talk to your kids about this. Maybe tie in Christmas and Jesus is Heaven. Sending you lots of prayers and hugs!

  5. I am so sorry. I will be praying for your friends and for you. I did want to say that I have always been honest with my kids about death. It isn't easy, but we do talk about it when someone we know passes away or an animal dies. Like I said I will be praying.

  6. Ticia I am so sorry. Ugh. Things like this are so hard. Know that God has a plan and even if it doesn't make sense to us he knows what he is doing.

    Know we are here for you. And I would be honest with your kids. They, by know means, need to know everything but just explain that your heart hurts because someone you love is sick.

Leave a Reply

