Science Sunday

Since, I have not been specific enough, and I’ve gotten lots of questions (okay, maybe 5), here is what I think of as things to post for Science Sunday:

1. Experiments, that one’s a given, but what do you do with your kids to learn about science.

2. Observations, where you notice or your kid notices something new about the world, it could be where you find a bug and go learn more about it. Or it could be where you discover something new about how gravity works.

3. Cool books or toys. There are lots of great books, toys, and games that have science themes. I’d love to see what your kids loves, or a parent resource you’ve found that helps you figure stuff out.

4. This is not something that has to be a specific subject. I struggle to participate in linkies that have a specific theme, because it may not fit what I”m teaching, but if it’s just here’s science, it’s a lot easier for more people to participate.

5. Oh, and I almost forgot, this is also a place you could link up nature studies, because studying nature is a form of science. There are whole schools that use that as a basis for their science.

If all else fails link it up, and if I don’t think it applies, I can email you and we can talk through your thinking. At the early elementary age there is a lot of crossover between art and science (take the eye dropper activity, that is also science because it’s observing how things interact).

So, with all of that, here’s our science activity for the week:

CLASSIFYING DINOSAURS!

Photobucket

This is very simple, you could do it any number of ways, and with lots of different subjects. Classifying is a basic science skill that you use a lot in early school years. You could do a more obvious one of sorting living and nonliving, different kinds of animals. We did dinosuars, since we’re studying dinosaurs.

We sorted them according to what they ate. If we didn’t know we would look it up in a book, this also reinforces the ever so important skill of “look in a book” (thank you Super Why).

We also noticed that meat eaters had sharp pointy teeth for tearing food, and plant eaters had flat teeth for grinding plants up. This is another important science skill, observation.

So, the only dinosaur of the ones up there I’m not sure about is anklyosaurus (seriously I think the guys just threw letters at a wall, and said that looks good, for some of these names). The book didn’t say what they ate, and I didn’t remember to look it up later on the web.

If you want a great set of pictures of dinosaurs go over to Carisa’s blog where she put together an alphabetical grouping of them.

8 thoughts on “Science Sunday

  1. Great idea on classifying the dinosaurs! I may try this with the huge collection of bugs we have. I'm going to link up tomorrow with a post on science-related books for the start of National Young Readers Week.

  2. I agree, I hate linkies that are too specific! I think this is a great idea. If we do anything, I'll link to you. I love the dinosaur classification. I left you a question on your chore post too. Both of these posts were great reads for me! Thanks.

  3. If we do anything, I'll link up for sure. Unfortunately, science is still kind of an afterthought to a lot of other things we are doing, but I like your wide range. By the way, great dinosaur study – your kids learn a lot from you.

Leave a Reply

