Claire Robinson has yummy cookie recipes

Photobucket

I have a picture this week. I was going to get pictures of all the steps, and what did I get a picture of? Six bags of Earl Grey tea torn open to make 3 tablespoons.

So, I looked through her recipes and thought I was going to have a hard time finding one. My husband and I have very divergent tastes in food, and he doesn’t want anything that has fruit or citrus in it, and I’m picky about textures. This makes recipes a challenge sometimes.

Then I found:

Earl Grey Grey Shortbread Cookies

Let me just do my happy dance now!

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons loose Earl Grey tea leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature

So, she has you mixing it all together in a food processor…… Yeah, I tried that in mine, but I have a little mini one, and that just wasn’t going to happen, so I did it in my mixer, and it worked just fine.

1. Mix together flour, tea, and salt until the tea is spotted throughout.

2. Add powdered sugar, vanilla, and butter. Mix only until a dough is formed.

3. Form it into a log and wrap it up in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, and it really does make a difference if you follow this step. I really should remember this for when I’m tempted to skip it in other recipes.

4. Preheat overn to 375 degrees.

5. Slice the dough into 1/2″ slices and put on cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. You’re supposed to put it on parchment paper or silpat sheets. I didn’t have either of those, but it did just fine on my stoneware.

6. Cook 12 minutes. I think I actually cooked it for about 14 minutes, but I’ve noticed with stoneware you need to cook a little longer. Let cool for a few minutes on the sheet, and then remove to cooling rack.

And the result: I took it to Bible Study that night, and they ate almost all of them. So I made a second batch, so we would have some for tea on Sunday. And that batch was eaten by my family within 2 days.

I am now completely out of scones and cookies. I guess I need to cook more, good thing I was able to find some loose tea leaves…….. I still need to verify the math to see if that was less expensive or just seemed like it was.

OH, and I totally think this would work to make with kids, and my kids loved eating it, it’s a nice lower sugar recipe.

Now go see the other yummy recipes over at I Blame My Mother

6 thoughts on “Claire Robinson has yummy cookie recipes

  1. I have had Earl Grey cookies before and they are GOOD! I love the way every cookie in a sliced cookie recipe looks the same. I like the uniformity. I sometimes skip the refrigeration step too but it always backfires! Love to hear your winning cookie recipe. Thanks for participating!

Leave a Reply

