Me on the Map, my house

This post has been a while in coming. Why? Because it took me this long to find a map of our house. I didn’t want to freehand it. Finally, I remembered we had one in the binder we got when we bought our house.

So far we’ve only done the top floor. Here’s what we did.

Photobucket

1. Send your kids all over with the camera to take pictures of the different rooms. Have them take turns, otherwise you will regret it. You get weird pictures like this.

2. Print off the pictures, I just used my printer, didn’t want to bother with going to the store to get them. Cut out the pictures and have a map of your house handy.

Photobucket

3. Hand each kid a picture or two. To keep peace I made sure each kid got a picture that was related to their room, and then another they weren’t as thrilled about. What picture did they argue about most? The bathroom. *

*On a totally unrelated note, for some reason one of my sons decided it would be funny to urinate on his sister. His reason: “I needed to go potty and she was sitting on the potty.” EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. Glue the pictures down, talk about where they are and such stuff. Have them practice finding rooms.

Now, here’s the game:

Use a button (I thought about being silly, and claiming this was my button craft for Mama Jenn, but really…..) and put it on your map (you can see it on the picture above).

Then have the kids run to that room.

Photobucket

This was the best game ever according to them. Much better than the game I’ll write about later this week. Boring reading game.

Oh well, we’re one step closer to getting through “Me on the Map.” We still have the downstairs to do, but that’ll be next week.

5 thoughts on “Me on the Map, my house

  1. I LOVE your idea with the pics for the map. LOVE it. We have dropped the ball with our Me on the Map study, oh well.

    Joe would love that game. You have fun ideas.

  2. The whole “pee on sister” thing had me rolling!!!!

    Hey, I didn't say that you had to make a {craft} with buttons…you just have to be creative with them. I thought about just linking up the kids sorting the buttons…and that is not a craft! {smile}

Leave a Reply

