Crispy Chicken Bites, also known as deep fried dinner

So….. I looked at Brian Boitano’s recipes and went wow those sound fancy, and then I saw Crispy Chicken Derby Bites. I can do that, it sounds kind of like chicken nuggets, so my kids should like it. Let’s give it a try.

Ingredients
4 strips bacon (ummm, only used if you make the sauce, but you do use the grease)
1 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken
2 cups buttermilk
2 tablespoons hot sauce (I discovered as I was making this that I was out, so I just added extra chili powder and paprika)
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 cups canola oil
Derby Dip:
3/4 cup sour cream
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
1/4 cup blue cheese, room temperature, cut into small pieces

How to make

1. Cut up the chicken into little bite sized pieces. Check.

2. Make up marinade, mix buttermilk and hot sauce together and marinate the chicken pieces for at least 2 hours. Ummmm, how does that work if I want to have dinner ready in about an hour? Sigh, well I guess we’re doing chicken and dumplings tonight, and we’ll do this tomorrow. Dump chicken and marinade in a dish, and stick it in the refrigerator.

3. Pull out the chicken mess. Get a large plastic bag pour the flour into it, use tortilla flour because you’re out of regular flour, and let’s face it, I’m never going to make homemade tortillas. Add the other spices in. Just dump in something that looks like the right amount.

3b. Throw the kids in the backyard, because they’re running around being crazy. This is a very important step. Make sure to repeat the rule “No hitting your sister on the head with a shovel,” before sending them outside

4. Grab a handful of chicken, let the marinade drain off, and then put it in the flour mixture, seal and shake a bunch.

5. Repeat until you’ve coated all of the chicken. You’re supposed to repeat this a second time dipping the chicken back in the marinade and then in the flour again, but about halfway through the chicken mess I stopped doing that.

6. Oh, while you’re doing this cook some bacon until it’s really crispy.

7. Now finish reading the directions and decide you’re going to ignore what he says and use the deep fryer you have, because it sounds easier. Really. Directions are for wusses. Exception when building things or making Legos, then you follow it religiously and freak out if the piece is missing.

8. Heat the deep fryer to 350 and add some of the bacon grease.

9. Cook handfuls of chicken for about 4-5 minutes. Take the chicken out of the fryer and pry it out of the cage with your knife. The batter kind of formed around the wire and would stick to it. I guess this is why he wasn’t using a fryer. That and not everyone has one.

10. To go with it, get out your “apple peeler, slicer, corer,” and peel and cut a potato with it. Voila, instant homemade potato chips. Or they will be once you fry them.

11. Can you see why I called this the deep fried dinner?

And then in theory you mix together the other stuff to make a dip. Or, in my reality dinner is running late because it never takes the time the recipe says it does to make it, and you just throw food at the kids and say “EAT! No you can’t stand on the chair… Now get a towel to clean up the milk you spilled because you were standing on the chair.”

Overall, recipe yummy. Lots of work, but it’s good. A nice alternative to most chicken nuggets, and it makes lots. Really, I mean lots. We have a fair amount of leftovers.

To see the other Brian Boitano recipes everyone else made head over to I Blame My MOther.

6 thoughts on “Crispy Chicken Bites, also known as deep fried dinner

  1. LOL “No hitting your sister on the head with a shovel” – good rule. This was a popular recipe and I see why. I could use me some nuggents about now…even if it is 6 am! Thanks for linking.

  2. Always enjoy reading your posts — just cracks me up! It sounds just like how I cook “Just dump in something that looks like the right amount.” – which is why I don't bake 😉

Leave a Reply

