Ocean and Octopus books

<A HREF=”http://ws.amazon.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=US&ID=V20070822%2FUS%2Fadvenofmommy-20%2F8010%2Fadce0d55-dee0-45ea-96ee-aa75dedc0e71&Operation=NoScript”>Amazon.com Widgets</A>

Rainbow Fish-I think this book first came out when I was in high school and it made the rounds of the soon to be teachers and we all loved it as a great book about sharing. I’ve heard some people look at it as a “way to buy friends,” but I think there’s a lot of potentially great lessons in there. This is a popular book and we’ve read it several times.

Rainbow Fish and the Tattle Tale; Copycat Fish– both of these are part of the “continuing Rainbow Fish” Adventures. I don’t quite see how it fits in with the continuity of Rainbow Fish (and yes I do realize I’m giving it a lot more credit than they probably thought about), but in these Rainbow Fish is a kid and he goes through the typical little kid problems. They’re fun short reads and can help if you’re having a problem with tattling, or lying, or fill in the problem (I have 3 or 4 in this series, I think).

A House for a Hermit Crab– A cute book about how a hermit crab goes around and builds his house. It progresses through the months of the year, and with each month he adds something to his house, and finally at the end of the year he moves on to a new house. For those of you El-Ed majors, this is a marginal example of a circle book, it ends the same way it begins (there are a a few minor differences, that’s why it’s marginal). This was quite popular, and I think I read it 3 times in a row before they let me stop reading it.

Swimmy– this is a great book for talking about working together. Swimmy is a black fish in a sea of red fish, and the big fish always pick on them. They must solve a problem of how to work together. Truthfully, we read this one a while ago, and I don’t remember their reaction to it, but I love it, so I decided to include it here.

Fish Faces– this one might be nonfiction, all in how you look at it. I think the call number was nonfiction. but, it’s pictures of different fish faces, and you decide how the fish are feeling. This is super cute and the kids loved looking at the different faces and guessing how the fish felt.

<A HREF=”http://ws.amazon.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=US&ID=V20070822%2FUS%2Fadvenofmommy-20%2F8010%2Fce81550c-ee05-4fc2-952c-5c4c9e568e4c&Operation=NoScript”>Amazon.com Widgets</A>

So, all of these we read before we worked on our Ocean Animals book. We would read about one or two animals and then while they made their animals I would write down what they told me.

How to Hide an Octopus– Fun book about how different animals camoflauge. The kids had lots of fun reading this book and looking for the hiding animals.

Giant Octopuses– A great factual book that the kids had lots of fun reading. After we read this we did our octopus page from their ocean animals book.

Sea Horses– The kids had lots of fun with this one because we had just seen sea horses the week before at the aquarium. They had fun trying to find the same ones we saw before. And of course then we made our sea horses.

Ocean Mammals– This one we kind of scanned and read some of it. It was aimed at a slightly older group. They kept relating it back to the movie we saw, so they did get more from the 3D movie then that you can wear the glasses as a bra……

Surprising Sharks– Another big hit, and the illustrations are fun and different. After this they kept making a point to tell me how sharks eat their brothers and sisters. Yeah……. THat’s all they got from it. Sharks eat their brothers.

Jellyfish-another great fact book. I love books like this that are written for early readers because it has just the right amount of information for a preschooler. While I love the Gail Gibbons books, I think the best ones of all are the Rookier Readers. They have one sentence per page, and great pictures. Much less tendency to overwhelm my kids with too many facts.

For More Great posts on what people are reading go on over to Mouse Grows, Mouse Learns.

6 thoughts on “Ocean and Octopus books

  1. We loved the Rainbow Fish, I remember A House for a Hermit Crab from my children. I must add all these books to my list to look for, well maybe not the Octopus books as Selena tends to freak over Octopus, don't know why!

  2. These are some great books. We like Swimmy and the Jellyfish book too.

    I've never heard of The Copycat Book, Fish Faces and several other of these either.

    Thanks for some new books ideas!!

  3. You have great thematic suggestions. We read a lot of ocean books when we were doing our Ocean theme in the summer, and Anna really liked Swimmy. A lot of your non-fiction books are new to me, and I bookmarked your post, so I can return to it when we repeat the ocean theme again sometimes next spring or summer. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

