Super fun turtle books

<A HREF=”http://ws.amazon.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=US&ID=V20070822%2FUS%2Fadvenofmommy-20%2F8010%2Ffd2b7a01-2bd0-463e-9908-4b417fc09aca&Operation=NoScript”>Amazon.com Widgets</A>

Yertle the Turtle– I love this book, it’s actually what inspired the turtle craft we did. Yertle is the king of the turtles and wants to be king of more. I also found at the library a video version of it, but the kids weren’t thrilled with that.

All About Turtles– a great fact book that the kids were intersted in, they especially found it interesting to learn that turtles make nests and lay eggs.

Turtle Splash- was super popular, it’s a countdown book and was very well done. This is the book where it seemed like my kids finally clicked with counting. I think we read this one a couple of times.

One Tiny Turtle– I wanted to like this one more than I did. It didn’t quite work for me, and I’m not sure why. It didn’t seem to catch the kids attention either so it wasn’t just me. It follows a sea turtle’s life from being a young turtle through having babies herself. It was just odd.

Sea Turtles– Gail Gibbons again, and I still like her books. She just does a great job of providing good fact and making it somewhat interesting.

Bear and Turtle and the Great Lake Race– is kind of a variation on The Hare and the Tortoise, except this time the turtle wins through engineuity. I thought it was super cute, and fun.

The Foolish Tortoise– This is a good book for teaching the lesson about being content with who you are. The kids had fun reading this one, and afterwards found blankets to pretend they were turtles. It was super cute.

6 thoughts on “Super fun turtle books

  1. “Yertle the Turtle” was one of my favorite Dr. Seuss books as a child. We are huge fans of Eric Carle but we have read “The Foolish Turtle.” We'll make sure to add it our reading list when we cover a turtle unit.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

