Yummy food challenge

This week, we’re supposed to cook something from Bobby Flay. Usually my husband does the grilling, so I picked something not from the grill which took a while.

Crispy Salmon with Green Herb Caper Sauce and Asparagus Cheese Puffs (try to say that in one breath)

Ingredients
4 (7 ounce) salmon fillets, skin on (I just got 1.5 pounds)
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1 cup rice flour (seriously, where do you find rice flour?, this is not intended for someone who is shopping with 3 preschoolers)
1/2 cup water (I watered it down a hair more)
Olive oil, for searing

Directions:

Mix the water and flour together. Dip the salmon in this. Discover it doesn’t really dip, so scoop it up in your hand and smear it all over.

While you’re doing this turn the stove up and get the pan and oil heating, I used sesame oil. I figured it’d add a bit more flavor.

Then sear it in the nice hot oil, and spend a couple of minutes flipping it to each side. Do this a couple of times.

Caper Sauce thing– I needlessly doubled the recipe, I just don’t have the knack for oil based sauces
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup finely chopped flat-leaf parsley
1/4 cup capers (just so you know, these are sold bottled next to the fish at HEB)
3 tablespoons chopped fresh chives (mine were dried)
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped (or 2 nice big heaping spoon fulls from your pre-chopped jar)1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme (how the heck do you chop thyme? Have you seen the size of those leaves? I picked this from my garden, thyme and basil that’s all I successfully grow, something dug up my sad bell pepper plant, last week)
1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano (it came from a nice little jar, apparently I watered my oregano too much)
1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary (oh, rosemary does grow slowly, but if I cook with it too often, I won’t have a plant left)
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Mix everything but the lemon juice together. Add the lemon juice right before serving.

Asparagus Cheese Puffs

1/2 pound fresh asparagus, trimmed, cut into 1/4-inch pieces and blanched (ummmm I forgot to buy asparagus)
3/4 cup milk
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon curry powder
Pinch cayenne
3 large eggs
1 cup coarsely grated Manchego (MANCHEGO IS SOOOOOOOOOO YUMMY, we buy about 1/4 pound a week, my daughter wolves it down like candy)
1/2 cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

Preheat oven to 400

Bring milk and butter to a boil in a small pan. Remove from heat and add the dry ingredients.

Put back on the burner for 20 seconds to dry it out a little. Add the eggs one at a time as each is completely mixed in. This takes a while, because it’s hard to get the eggs to mix properly.

Add the cheese, and if you got asparagus, this is when it should be added.

Drop in large spoon-sized blobs onto a parchment covered cookie sheet. I just cooked it on my slightly greased stoneware, and had no problem.

Bake about 15-20 minutes. I think for me it was a little closer to 20, but 20 was a little too long. Remove immediately from sheet and eat.

Results

The salmon was okay. The sauce did not go over well. I didn’t like the whole capers, and Jeff doesn’t like oil based sauces. So that part was a fail. I liked the crunchy part of the salmon, but was a little leery of making sure I’d cooked it enough, because usually Jeff just grills it.

However, the cheese puffs were a huge hit, and reminded me of the Red Lobster ones, only better. I’ve always thought the Red Lobster ones were a little heavy, these were light and fluffy and disappeared very fast.

For more yummy recipes go to I Blame My Mother

9 thoughts on “Yummy food challenge

  1. I actually think the whole things sounds really good. I like capers though and cook with them often. I use them instead of pickles in tuna/chicken salads, and in pan sauces over almost anything =) i will definitely have to try the puffs though. I've always thought red lobster biscuits were heavy too. Something that tastes like them, but lighter? Yum! Thanks for posting this one!

  2. I don't like whole capers either. If I chop them up in my mini chopper I think they're edible but otherwise… blech! Glad to know that the cheese puffs were a success! I love the flavor of the Red Lobster ones.

  3. Wow – you went all out! HIs recipes can get a bit lengthy. The puffs do sound good – although I'm not sure how they would be with asparagus. Love your recipe commentary 🙂 Thanks for cooking along with FNCCC – enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

