Running in the Park

First don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY. I’m privileged to give away a SpellQuizzer. Maybe I should be using it now that I look at how I spelled that.

Since it was a short week, I didn’t really want to start our new theme of Nests quite yet, so we did some general review and lots of playing. My kids were quite happy with this theory.

We stopped by Round Rock Memorial park as part of one of those marathon errand running days that seem to come up from time to time. As a good job not going completely crazy at the stores we stopped here after the library.

Photobucket
Of course the first thing you must do once getting to the park is find a stick. This can be used for all sorts of things, it can be a sword, or a gun, or something to poke suspicious looking dirt with. You can also use it to hit leaves and other stuff on the ground.

Photobucket

Of course we had to check out the brick wall and try to climb it. The miracle was no one hurt anything in that experiment.

Photobucket

I really love this playground because it has some fun playscapes and climbing challenges. Of course that day it was way too hot to actually play on it. So within 10 minutes of getting there, they were looking for something else to do. Sigh, stupid 100 degree weather.

Photobucket

This was Princess’ solution. Of course if she had her way, that’s all I’d do at the park. Push her in the swing. It took about 15 tries to get this picture.

Photobucket

Batman had a different solution. He set about building his very own rock town. It was quite a city by the time he was done. Then he had to take one of them with him for the rest of the park excursion.

Photobucket

Superman solved his dilemma by sending his Batman toy down the slide A LOT, and I do mean a lot.

Photobucket

Finally my arms had quite tired out, and had turned to spaghetti. So, I suggested a walk. The water used to be quite a bit higher, but after the nonstop rain of the last few days it’s probably a little higher. I hope.

Photobucket

And of course we ended the time with wading in the creek. It was a lot of fun, and let them get thoroughly wet.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After much splashing and playing we headed back.

Photobucket
Rank and file.

Photobucket
And then we ran into a great object lesson. So we sat down to talk about it.

Photobucket
So, I’m guessing this tree stump was cut down to protect the overpass above us. After all it was growing pretty close to right underneath it. We all took turns guessing why they might have chopped down this tree, and looking at the new tree that is growing in the middle of it. Like I said, great impromptu science lesson about growing things. Of course the creek was also a great hands on lesson about ponds and such, and the water level was a great lesson about how much we need rain and how it isn’t just trees that need rain.

And of course as we went home we checked to see if our Flat Stanley had come yet, but he didn’t come until the next day. So, he does start showing up more soon. Like I said, in order to keep my sanity I post about a week after it’s happened. Except for the odd thing that amuses me like the Two Dollar Bill story. So Stanley, I mean O-Mite gets to appear in my rain story tomorrow.

One thought on “Running in the Park

Leave a Reply

